The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 06:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Which is not the same as the end of the jurisdiction of the officials. So how is this dead ball any different?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 06:14am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Which is not the same as the end of the jurisdiction of the officials. So how is this dead ball any different?
The period is over. That's how it's different.

I agree with Tony.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 48
Maybe a bailout, but the tech could be for a substitute not reporting to the scorer or being beckoned by an official. I'm sure both officials counted 5 players on each team before the foul so the 6th player must have been a sub.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
nevada i think you read into the rules with x-ray vision. even this is a bit of a stretch. but i do admire your zeal in going after these 3rd world interpretations.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 02:08pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
i do admire your zeal in going after these 3rd world interpretations.
"I wish I had your passion, Ray. Misdirected though it might be,
it is still a passion."

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 37
Smile

Clarification : The technical was for 6 men on the court ,,, not for illegal entry ( not being beckoned or reporting ) . Our coach asked the official the reason for the T and the official responded that it was b/c of 6 players on the floor.

Thanks for the input

Tip
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 10:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
6 players is not a T its a rare inverted violation as per 3.4 sitA.

the penalty is the offending coach gets tickled by the hamburglar while ronald mcdonald watches.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 06, 2007, 04:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The period is over. That's how it's different.

I agree with Tony.
So let's move this to the end of the third quarter. The officials only notice that there were six team members out there after the horn has sounded and the teams are on their way to their benches for the one-minute intermission. What have you got?

Or how about if the stoppage is for a full time-out in the middle of the second quarter, and then rest happens the same as above?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Was this the correct call LouisianaDave Basketball 10 Wed Feb 14, 2007 04:32pm
What's the correct call? coachsara Softball 1 Mon Sep 26, 2005 03:22pm
Correct Call? scottbono Baseball 18 Thu Jun 30, 2005 08:36pm
What is the correct call? RecRef Basketball 3 Sun Nov 24, 2002 11:07pm
What is the correct call? gabenet Basketball 15 Mon Oct 28, 2002 07:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1