![]() |
|
|
|||
10-1-6 . . . Have more than five team members participating simultaneously.
PENALTY: (Art. 6) Penalized if discovered while being violated. That means while the ball is live. If the officials didn't notice that the team had six out there until the ball became dead, then issuing a technical foul was incorrect. As for the FTs being shot in the wrong order: MISTAKE IN ADMINISTRATION SEQUENCE 8.7 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 just as the first quarter ends and then A1 retaliates and intentionally contacts B1. A1's foul is a technical foul as it occurred during a dead ball. Team A is in the bonus. The officials by mistake administer the penalty for the technical foul before the free throw(s) by A1. RULING: The penalties should have been administered in the order in which the fouls occurred. However, since all merited free throws were attempted it does not constitute a correctable error situation. The second quarter will begin with an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-19-5c) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() If there's a dead ball and there's 6 still on the floor, then it's discovered while being violated. The rule doesn't say, "That means while the ball is live." I'm open for discussion but you've gotta come up with more than that.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
My opinion comes from how one must define "participating."
Can team members be participating during a dead ball? Perhaps in the case of the dead ball following a goal while the clock is running, but otherwise I don't see how. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Was this the correct call | LouisianaDave | Basketball | 10 | Wed Feb 14, 2007 04:32pm |
What's the correct call? | coachsara | Softball | 1 | Mon Sep 26, 2005 03:22pm |
Correct Call? | scottbono | Baseball | 18 | Thu Jun 30, 2005 08:36pm |
What is the correct call? | RecRef | Basketball | 3 | Sun Nov 24, 2002 11:07pm |
What is the correct call? | gabenet | Basketball | 15 | Mon Oct 28, 2002 07:21pm |