The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Feb 22, 2007, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
I won't forget this...

HS game last night, visitors behind most of the way. They make a strong run in the 4th qtr and cut it to like 7 points but couldn't sustain. Little over a minute left in the game and he's down by 20 so he surrenders and puts his subs in. They promply lose the ball OOB. I'm T, start the throw-in and the home coach calls a time out. I figure he's gonna put in his bench and start the game up again but no. He takes the entire timeout. Sooo....and here'e the point of the post...I'm standing near the visiting coach and he turns to me and says "I've been doing this for 17 years and I can remember every coach who's done this to me and I'll remember this too".

All I could say was "ya got a good point coach".
Old Thu Feb 22, 2007, 12:11pm
In Memoriam

What goes 'round, comes 'round.
Old Thu Feb 22, 2007, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member

Just to clarify, he takes the entire timeout and does what? Tries to get his starters to score more points? Or just takes up time that you and the coach felt should be running off the clock?

If the latter, he may have seen something that he felt had to be corrected right then and there.
Old Thu Feb 22, 2007, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
Just to clarify, he takes the entire timeout and does what? Tries to get his starters to score more points? Or just takes up time that you and the coach felt should be running off the clock?

If the latter, he may have seen something that he felt had to be corrected right then and there.
2 questions, 2 answers

1. I have no idea what he was talking about, I was 50 feet away from him.

2. I was not concerned with the clock not running, in fact I called 2 fouls in the last minute after the TO.