The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 02:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pasadena Ca
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to TRef21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo
I have seen a similar thread in the past years, but can't find it now and can't remember how it ended.

A1 takes a short jumper from the free throw line. B1 turns toward the basket anticipating a possible rebound. The ball bounces off the backboard toward A1 who secures it and drives into the lane for a layup, but in the process contacts B1 from behind, knocking him to the floor as he makes the layup.

My problem is this: B1 did not have a legal guarding position as he was not facing his opponet, but he did get where he was first and he did get there legally.

Minor contact I would let go, but I'm not sure how to interpet the rules when there is excessive contact.

Block? Charge? No Call? How have some of you handled this?


I Have a CHARGE. . Remember everyone is entitled to a spot on the floor. B has established a guarding position on a player with out the ball. Time and distance shall be required to attain initial guarding position. He needs give no more than two strides on a player with out the ball, has to give the oppent time and distance and when A is airborne he must on the floor before A is in flight.
__________________
Tommy
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 28, 2007, 03:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRef21
I Have a CHARGE. . Remember everyone is entitled to a spot on the floor. B has established a guarding position on a player with out the ball. Time and distance shall be required to attain initial guarding position. He needs give no more than two strides on a player with out the ball, has to give the oppent time and distance and when A is airborne he must on the floor before A is in flight.
Tommy, while you have the call right, your reasoning is not fully correct. B1 has established a spot on the floor and is entitled to that spot having reached it first. However, nothing else which you wrote applies as A1 does have the ball in this scenario and B1 never establishes a guarding position on him. In fact, B1 never even attempts to guard A1. A1 merely runs him over from behind.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1