The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan
The contact did not warrent a Flagrant "T". With the Flagrant "T" she is ejected and lose the next 2 games, which would have been into the play-offs and unfair for the amount of contact.
I thought a dead ball contact foul was a flagrant. What am I thinking of?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 04:57pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
I thought a dead ball contact foul was a flagrant. What am I thinking of?
Got me. What are you thinking of?

1) In the post referred to, the coach yelled "foul, foul" and his player pushed an opponent into the second row. You can't call a technical foul of any kind for live-ball contact, by rule.Rule 4-19-1. That was Scrappy's very valid point.
2) A dead ball contact foul can be either an intentional or a flagrant technical foul, also by rule. Rule 4-19-5(c)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Got me. What are you thinking of?

1) In the post referred to, the coach yelled "foul, foul" and his player pushed an opponent into the second row. You can't call a technical foul of any kind for live-ball contact, by rule.Rule 4-19-1. That was Scrappy's very valid point.
2) A dead ball contact foul can be either an intentional or a flagrant technical foul, also by rule. Rule 4-19-5(c)
In the original post, A2 bumps B1 during a dead ball. Is the rule any dead ball contact is a technical (not a flagrant, as I was thinking of)?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 06:24pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by DC_Ref12
In the original post, A2 bumps B1 during a dead ball. Is the rule any dead ball contact is a technical (not a flagrant, as I was thinking of)?
The original post had nothing to do with Scrappy's response, but.....

You can have intentional and flagrant personal fouls, as well as intentional or flagrant technical fouls. Dead ball contact is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant, or it's committed by or on an airborne shooter. NFHS rule 4-19-1NOTE. If you do rule the dead ball contact intentional or flagrant though, then you call an intentional technical foul or a flagrant technical foul. NFHS rule 4-19-5(c). The exception to that is an airborne shooter charging after a dead ball. That is a player control foul, which is a personal foul.

Make sense?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2007, 06:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The original post had nothing to do with Scrappy's response, but.....

You can have intentional and flagrant personal fouls, as well as intentional or flagrant technical fouls. Dead ball contact is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant, or it's committed by or on an airborne shooter. NFHS rule 4-19-1NOTE. If you do rule the dead ball contact intentional or flagrant though, then you call an intentional technical foul or a flagrant technical foul. NFHS rule 4-19-5(c). The exception to that is an airborne shooter charging after a dead ball. That is a player control foul, which is a personal foul.

Make sense?
Yeah, thanks for the clarification.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Foul with "Dirty Hands" Stripe Football 5 Sun Nov 05, 2006 10:12pm
Why "general" and "additional"? Back In The Saddle Basketball 1 Sat Oct 07, 2006 02:56pm
"Balk" or "Ball" johnnyg08 Baseball 9 Fri Aug 18, 2006 08:26am
"Intentional" Walk blueump Softball 1 Wed May 31, 2006 10:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1