![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Yup, never say nonsense like that to any coach outside of rec leagues. Even in rec leagues, it's not a good idea because you're just baiting the coach right back. Either deal with it or ignore it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Davism #3.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
|
OK...Proving that I am not infallible
, I have heard back from my assignor/interpretor. Pump fakes should not cause the three point count to suspend. Only an actual move to the basket should do that. Obviously, that also clears up my confusion regarding shooting fouls.I humbly bow to you others who were right.
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Actually I'm lucky to have an excellent assignor, but I just had to jump in on that one.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Isn't that right sir? Actually I have differnt assignors for each conference that I work. This one specifically is also an official rules interpretor for the OHSAA. Quote:
Exactly where did you learn THAT piece of information???? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It is okay that we disagree with each other from time to time. It is often the stimulus for how we learn and improve. We do however reserve the right to blast you with strange pictures of squirrels and other assorted items for your transgression.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
However, in the rare event that a coach was to make a statement like this. He's done for the day. Doesn't matter how many technicals he got. If he has zero T's for the day, he's still ejected. Remember, you don't have to give a coach 2 technical before he's ejected. In fact, if he was to say something like that to me. I would go into my old baseball umpire routine and give him the hee-hoe, you're out of here! mechanic. And yes, I do have a flare for the dramatic when you get stupid with me. Peace |
|
|||
|
Quote:
2) Great idea. Bait the coach into saying something and then toss him when he does. Excellent advice for the aspiring rec league official. Warning: Not to be used elsewhere though. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Thirdly, you misspelled intramural again.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
I'm going to throw this out here and then I'm going to leave it at that. I have better things to do than to spend my day argueing with referees who like to throw other referees under the bus. If you want to call a 3-second lane violation during an interrupted dribble, that is you. Do what you think is right. I'm not going there. However, the rule also states.
"When a team secures control, that team remains in control until the ball is in flight...., or an opponent has secured control. This has an influenence on rules such as team control fouls, 3-seconds violations, and frontcourt/backcourt. No team (repeat JR), no team has control while the ball is dead, during a throw-in or jump, nor during the period following any of these acts when the ball is slapped away from other players in an attempt to secure control. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
In practice, I agree that three-seconds is rarely called during an interrupted dribble. But, by rule the count continues. |
|
|||
A 3-sec call during an interrupted dribble? Wouldn't this, by some obscure definition somewhere, be labeled a "game interrupter?" (sorry, couldn't help myself....!)
__________________
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Asked for help on this play. | nickrego | Baseball | 11 | Tue Jul 18, 2006 02:05pm |
| can you believe coach asked me this | Ref-X | Basketball | 25 | Thu Feb 23, 2006 05:44pm |
| Probably, Already Been Asked? | Time2Ref | Basketball | 4 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:34pm |
| Happy Channukkah! Happy Kwanzaa! | Jimgolf | Basketball | 3 | Sun Dec 25, 2005 05:00pm |
| He asked for it! | sir_eldren | Hockey | 10 | Fri Jun 04, 2004 06:44am |