![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I'm just nit-picking here, but did the coach ask you a direct question to cause you to go give him an explanation? If he's just complaining don't go to him, it will only lead to problems. If they have a legitimate question, head on over. I had the bad habit of initiating conversations with coaches early in my career. You're going to bring on more problems than you are going to solve if you are the one initiating the interaction.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Coach: "WHY DIDN'T YOU CALL 3 SECONDS??!"
You: "Because he didn't violate the rule" Then walk away.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
It's a concise explanation, period. Trying to drag a coach through a rules lesson never works. He doesn't want to hear about the rule, he wants to know why you screwed his player. Don't be a willing paricipant.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
As a somewhat humorous aside, my partner DID call three seconds about 5:00 later ON THEM!!!! Now THAT was an unpopular call!!!!! ![]() Last edited by Ignats75; Mon Feb 12, 2007 at 10:03am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Nate |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() It is also a poor policy to always give a warning for the first complaining from the asst. coaches. The word with quickly get around amongst your local coaches that you never T the first complaint, so they will know that they get a free one. Now go PM tomegun and tell him that you recommended the stop sign. ![]() BTW what is the difference in the penalty between ignoring the coach and giving him the stop sign? |
|
|||
Quote:
Tells the coach that you saw the player in the lane, that you were counting, but there's a specific reason not to call the violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
The coach isn't interested in learning anything new about the 3 second rule. He's PO'ed because he thinks you screwed him. Frankly I wouldn't even honor this complaint with *any* answer, it's so silly. IMO telling him why you didn't make the call for this particular situation opens you up to criticism when he thinks you're contradicting yourself later. Or even worse he'll disagree with your explanation as happened to Ignats. Anyway, this dead horse isn't worth beating. Ignats gave his explanation to the coach and still ended up T'ing the assistant. Good T in any event.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Asked for help on this play. | nickrego | Baseball | 11 | Tue Jul 18, 2006 02:05pm |
can you believe coach asked me this | Ref-X | Basketball | 25 | Thu Feb 23, 2006 05:44pm |
Probably, Already Been Asked? | Time2Ref | Basketball | 4 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:34pm |
Happy Channukkah! Happy Kwanzaa! | Jimgolf | Basketball | 3 | Sun Dec 25, 2005 05:00pm |
He asked for it! | sir_eldren | Hockey | 10 | Fri Jun 04, 2004 06:44am |