![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
NFHS rule 4-12-2 --"A team is in control of the ball when a player of a team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates and during an interrupted dribble". NFHS rule 4-12-3- "Team control continues until: (a) the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal. (b) The opponents secure control. (c)The ball becomes dead." NFHS rule 4-12-4-- "While a ball remains live, a loose ball always remains in control of the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap for goal". If you actually owned a rule book, you would have known that. It's a basic. -Edited to remove the same comment that Bob J. removed.... Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Feb 14, 2007 at 10:20am. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Yup, never say nonsense like that to any coach outside of rec leagues. Even in rec leagues, it's not a good idea because you're just baiting the coach right back. Either deal with it or ignore it. |
|
|||
Quote:
Davism #3. ![]()
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
OK...Proving that I am not infallible
![]() ![]() I humbly bow to you others who were right. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
However, in the rare event that a coach was to make a statement like this. He's done for the day. Doesn't matter how many technicals he got. If he has zero T's for the day, he's still ejected. Remember, you don't have to give a coach 2 technical before he's ejected. In fact, if he was to say something like that to me. I would go into my old baseball umpire routine and give him the hee-hoe, you're out of here! mechanic. And yes, I do have a flare for the dramatic when you get stupid with me. Peace |
|
|||
Quote:
2) Great idea. Bait the coach into saying something and then toss him when he does. Excellent advice for the aspiring rec league official. Warning: Not to be used elsewhere though. |
|
||||
Quote:
Thirdly, you misspelled intramural again.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
I'm going to throw this out here and then I'm going to leave it at that. I have better things to do than to spend my day argueing with referees who like to throw other referees under the bus. If you want to call a 3-second lane violation during an interrupted dribble, that is you. Do what you think is right. I'm not going there. However, the rule also states.
"When a team secures control, that team remains in control until the ball is in flight...., or an opponent has secured control. This has an influenence on rules such as team control fouls, 3-seconds violations, and frontcourt/backcourt. No team (repeat JR), no team has control while the ball is dead, during a throw-in or jump, nor during the period following any of these acts when the ball is slapped away from other players in an attempt to secure control. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
In practice, I agree that three-seconds is rarely called during an interrupted dribble. But, by rule the count continues. |
|
||||
Quote:
Let's start with you first colorized statement. Team control continues; this influences rules such as three second violations. Guess what this means, three second counts continue as long as there is team control. Now, your second colorized statement. Read what comes before it; "no team has control while the ball is dead, during a throwin or jump ball," it then continues to say, "nor during the period following any of these acts." This means, there is no team control following a throwin if players are still swatting at it trying to get it. It doesn't mean team control ends while players swat at the ball. It's a valiant effort, but the rule book is apparently over your head.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Don't try to fake something that you don't know, Old School. This isn't a rec league that you're dealing with here. There's real, live officials on this forum. People that own real, honest-to- goodness rule books too, and actually know what's in them. |
|
|||
Quote:
I officiate football as well, and I also coach a junior high football team. I had an official say that exact line to me one time and he was quite surprised when I said "Yes" and stuck out my hand for his whistle. He didn't know what to do, and then just walked away muttering. I doubt he still uses that line. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Asked for help on this play. | nickrego | Baseball | 11 | Tue Jul 18, 2006 02:05pm |
can you believe coach asked me this | Ref-X | Basketball | 25 | Thu Feb 23, 2006 05:44pm |
Probably, Already Been Asked? | Time2Ref | Basketball | 4 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:34pm |
Happy Channukkah! Happy Kwanzaa! | Jimgolf | Basketball | 3 | Sun Dec 25, 2005 05:00pm |
He asked for it! | sir_eldren | Hockey | 10 | Fri Jun 04, 2004 06:44am |