The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member

need to vent

i know im relatively new to officating (5 yrs.) but it seems lately that i have more calls being made in my area and it is starting to annoy me...im working hard to develope my offball skills and appling adv/disadv, displacement so i pass on some calls...im working as hard to make sure that im not calling outside of my primary...how can i approach my partner to let them know that they need to allow me to call my game and still be respectful of their judgment?
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 11:24pm
Do not give a damn!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloverdale
i know im relatively new to officating (5 yrs.) but it seems lately that i have more calls being made in my area and it is starting to annoy me...im working hard to develope my offball skills and appling adv/disadv, displacement so i pass on some calls...im working as hard to make sure that im not calling outside of my primary...how can i approach my partner to let them know that they need to allow me to call my game and still be respectful of their judgment?
I am assuming you mean calls being made by other officials or your partner?

What level are you working?

Peace
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member

my partner...bjv
Old Tue Jan 30, 2007, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member

First I would talk about this in pregame and at the half. My response is generally if you (as my partner) see something in my area and I don't call it, I probably didn't see it. Working 2 person in JV games leaves several areas where you need to work together. I also talk about both of us with a call on the same play. In that case I would either defer to the primary official or talk it out quickly if I had something before my partner.