The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 10:59am
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by dknick78
Here it is.... OOB play on the base line after a made basket. A1 (assuming A1 is already OOB and a 5 second count has started) passes the ball to A2 who has jumped OOB, (A2 needs to be OOB b-4 he touches the ball) the ball goes through A2's hands bouces off the wall (I think it was a side wall) A2 retrieves the ball and throws it successfully in play to A3.

first queston... can this be done in 5 seconds? Yes second, does the ball become dead if it hit the side wall? No, but count continues. does it make a difference if it was a back wall? No
See notes in red. Perfectly legal if they get it done within 5 seconds. If the ball goes thru his hands and hits a fan. Judgement. If fans grabs the ball I would blow it dead. If the fan kicks the ball away from the inbounder, I would blow it dead and start over with endline priviledges the same.

It it hits the side wall and goes in play. That's a tougher sell. I got to think about that one.

Last edited by Old School; Mon Jan 29, 2007 at 12:01pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 11:04am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
If fans grabs the ball I would blow it dead. If the fan kicks the ball away from the inbounder, I would blow it dead and start over with endline priviledges the same.
No technical foul on the fan?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 11:28am
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
I don't know the exact wording on this, but if the ball was to hit the side wall and then goes in play. Several conditions would apply here.

1. A2 goes gets the ball and returns OOB and passes within 5 seconds, okay. Count does not stop.
2. B2 recovers the ball inbounds after it hits the sidewall. Blow it dead, pass was not thrown-in. Have team A inbound again, same priviledges.
3. After the ball hits the sidewall, A1 recovers. Blow it dead, pass was not thrown-in. I'm struggling here with this being a violation or not. I am leaning towards a violation in that A1 can not pass the ball to himself or carry the ball onto the court for a throw-in. However, having team A inbound the ball again, endline priviledges remain, sounds reasonable too, but this is a violation.

Man, I hope this never happens in a game I'm working.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
I don't know the exact wording on this, but if the ball was to hit the side wall and then goes in play. Several conditions would apply here.

1. A2 goes gets the ball and returns OOB and passes within 5 seconds, okay. Count does not stop.
2. B2 recovers the ball inbounds after it hits the sidewall. Blow it dead, pass was not thrown-in. Have team A inbound again, same priviledges.
3. After the ball hits the sidewall, A1 recovers. Blow it dead, pass was not thrown-in. I'm struggling here with this being a violation or not. I am leaning towards a violation in that A1 can not pass the ball to himself or carry the ball onto the court for a throw-in. However, having team A inbound the ball again, endline priviledges remain, sounds reasonable too, but this is a violation.

Man, I hope this never happens in a game I'm working.
It's not nearly this complicated. Read the rule book, read the case book, apply accordingly. 7-6 and 7.6 parts would be a good start.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 11:52am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
The OOB's pass to a teammate OOB's who then throws it IB's is a great way to get the ball IB's after a made basket if the other team has great pressure. It is usually used after a TO and the run the endline is still intact.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 02:17pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
I don't know the exact wording on this, but if the ball was to hit the side wall and then goes in play. Several conditions would apply here.

1. A2 goes gets the ball and returns OOB and passes within 5 seconds, okay. Count does not stop.
2. B2 recovers the ball inbounds after it hits the sidewall. Blow it dead, pass was not thrown-in. Have team A inbound again, same priviledges.
3. After the ball hits the sidewall, A1 recovers. Blow it dead, pass was not thrown-in. I'm struggling here with this being a violation or not. I am leaning towards a violation in that A1 can not pass the ball to himself or carry the ball onto the court for a throw-in. However, having team A inbound the ball again, endline priviledges remain, sounds reasonable too, but this is a violation.
It shouldn't be that difficult, Old School. Case book play 9.2.2SitA(a&b) gives you the rationale to call the play properly. Just follow the case play.

You do know what that case play says, don't you? If you don't mind, would you please post it for any other readers that may not have a case book. Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 03:40pm
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It shouldn't be that difficult, Old School. Case book play 9.2.2SitA(a&b) gives you the rationale to call the play properly. Just follow the case play.

You do know what that case play says, don't you? If you don't mind, would you please post it for any other readers that may not have a case book. Much appreciated.
I believe I got the play right without going to the casebook. If not, I'm sure you will correct me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Made basket ttownterp Basketball 2 Thu Feb 23, 2006 08:36pm
Made basket then a time out fonzzy07 Basketball 4 Tue Dec 27, 2005 09:39pm
In-bounds after made basket khoin Basketball 3 Mon Dec 20, 2004 02:10pm
After made basket...Can you dribble while.... sdubb Basketball 2 Mon Jan 12, 2004 10:37am
Clock after made basket Mark Dexter Basketball 6 Fri Mar 16, 2001 09:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1