![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() 2) You also said in your own words verbatim in that post.... -"I said that if we have a blarge, then it will be either a block or charge." - "I said that we are going to have a block or a charge, not a blarge." I was just pointing out that you are saying, as per your statements above, that you would not follow the procedures laid out in case book play 4.19.8SitC and call the double foul. Iow, you would simply ignore the NFHS ruling. Is that correct? Just making sure that everyone understands where you're coming from in this discussion.....
Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Fri Jan 26, 2007 at 03:00pm. |
|
|||
|
Late...
I agree with Rich, MTD Sr., Joeadvantage, and whom(who)ever else pregames that if a blarge happens...get together and decide one or the other. Beat me, whip me, shoot me...with apologies to the rule book purists...but, lets just say I don't understand this case book play...therefore, I must enforce this situation just as my crew and I pregamed. Oh yeah...we pregame other situations too...such as, advantage/disadvantage, 3 seconds in the key, coaches boxes, assistants off the bench when they are not suppose to be, profanity by a player (under his breath), etc. Maybe not every pregame...but, get the point.
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
|
Quote:
)What is your answer to said coach?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
or (if the Coach is actually standing squarely in his box) "Coach, we pregame this kinda stuff...one official had it one way, and the other offical had it the other way...we got together and determined who had the best look." If the Coach continues...then, "Coach, we'd do the same for you if it was the other way." Then move on...
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And anytime the subject has come in camp....nevermind. Point is, it's in the rulebook. Plenty of coaches know it's in the rulebook. I want someone to illustrate the conversation they are going to have with a knowlegeable coach as to why the crew has decided to eschew a rule. And tomorrow night, when I'm the crew chief, we'll pre-game the NFHS way. No one I have ever worked with has ever pre-gamed it differently.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri Jan 26, 2007 at 05:01pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Obviously, you have seen NCAA MENS officials handle it differently. What conference was it in? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Just wondering.... Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Fri Jan 26, 2007 at 04:59pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
|
JR...I'm going to start typing this post before I even wait for a response from you for my last post. (Because I know you won't let that sleeping dog lay)
You keep quoting Case book play 4.19.8(C) For the record...here it is. 4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is successful. RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36) As one poster said earlier...just because a signal is made, does that make it a call. If the "signal" was never reported...then does that mean it never happened, and thus was not an actual call? (you know...sort of like the tree in the forest) Your case play states two calls are made. Therefore, I am assuming both officials could not get together and decide which call to make. Soooo, in this case...you are correct...score the basket. I am simply saying...that in my games...we will get together and come up with ONE call, not TWo...as stated in your case play. If I am reading this case play wrong...then I guess I will miss this inteurpt...but, at least I will be consistent with what my fellow officials do in this area.
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Interesting discussion. I do girls in NY (NCAAW rules, NFHS for boys). Why? Don't know.
According to the NYSGBOA on a double whistle foul (2-man), the call goes to the person whose primary area of responsibility the play is in. Sometimes hard to do when it also states that both officials are on ball when the ball is in the paint. As far as the block/charge it states "When in doubt it is a charge. Don't penalize good defense!!" |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Blarge -- or was it? | rainmaker | Basketball | 3 | Sun Mar 26, 2006 09:04am |
| Blarge | All_Heart | Basketball | 14 | Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:39pm |
| Blarge or not? | ChuckElias | Basketball | 9 | Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:57am |
| blarge | Bart Tyson | Basketball | 13 | Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:17pm |
| BLARGE | chayce | Basketball | 46 | Wed Feb 09, 2005 12:18pm |