![]() |
|
|
|||
Ahhh if I remember, I believe this is one of the first topics I posted on whenever I joined The Forum. As I recall, MTD Sr. and I agreed on this subject, but like Tom, I'm holding mine until I hear yours!
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() And I don't believe for a minute that anything I say will really have any affect on Tomegun's thinking either. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() In return for your gracious contraction, I promise that if we ever work together, and have a double whistle on a block/charge, I'll let your call stand 100%. How's that? Actually, I don't mind you disagreeing about the blarge. I just don't like the name-calling. |
|
|||
There is no blarge. But we do it to ourselves as officials. Last week, I had a boys varsity game. I was the U1. The R for the pre-game talked about the blarge. He said if we have it, we will sell it and call it as a blarge. I said that if we have a blarge then it will either be a block or a charge. He said he had it in a game the other day. He said both coaches were mad, but that is just the way it is.
I said we are going to have a block or charge not a blarge. Guess what in the game we had this game situation. The ball was in my primary as C, I called the charge against the Visiting team. The T was going to call a block. I took the call. IT WAS CLEARLY A CHARGE. The visiting coach begged for a block and proceeded to say it was a "blarge". I told him not to go there. I saw the play and it was clearly a charge. At half time the offical who was at the T wanted to know why we didn't call a blarge. I re-iterated that there is no blarge. I told him if the ball was in his primary I would have backed off and let him call the block. BUT REMAIN IN PRIMARY UNLESS YOU ARE 200% SURE YOUR PARTNER KICKED IT!!! He said that he had been taught that a blarge was okay. I told him it was a bail out call. The R said that I should never say that. Sometimes you can't avoid the blarge. Then I told him that is why pre-game is so important!!! These blarges and other things (e.g., coach's box, calling the travel before A1 creams B2 after A1 gains control of the ball and turns and hits B2) we call or don't call, we bring upon ourselves. When you have the officials calling it correctly, you look like the odd ball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Please explain what you're getting at. I'm not quite sure. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
If this was an NFHS game, then I'm 100% sure that YOU kicked it. On the play you describe, once the Trail signaled a block and you signaled a charge, you need to correctly apply the rules as written in 4.19.8SitC. The visiting coach had every right to insist that a blocking foul was also reported on the play. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Score the Basket!!!! ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Unless, of course, you are saying that in your case that u and him are the same person. Which would mean that Jurassic thinks he is....wait, here it comes......God. It's true, it's true!!! ![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Blarge -- or was it? | rainmaker | Basketball | 3 | Sun Mar 26, 2006 09:04am |
Blarge | All_Heart | Basketball | 14 | Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:39pm |
Blarge or not? | ChuckElias | Basketball | 9 | Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:57am |
blarge | Bart Tyson | Basketball | 13 | Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:17pm |
BLARGE | chayce | Basketball | 46 | Wed Feb 09, 2005 12:18pm |