The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to swkansasref33
I have a push on B. He/she clearly gained an advantage by displacing player A
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 01:30pm
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
To me timing is everything on a play like this. Were they both in contact withthe ball at the same time as the contact occurred. In other words was it a Bang, Bang play. Could the official have seen the contact as incidental when no one had possesion yet? Too many factors to consider without being there to see the play. I won't make a judgement on this one.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 44
WEll

If as you say the contact could have been incidental, than it would have been a non-call. PLayer A though gained possession about 7 feet prior to player B. PLayer B going for the Rebound too, saw that she didn't get it and than Kept her momentum in order to guard PLayer A. thus the contact and knock down. I see what you are saying, but had it been incidental, than no call should have been made. Rather the Ref saw fit to call it traveling. Which in any stretch of the imagination, could have only been by her falling down without any contact or tripping. Since contact occured, I really don't see his call being correct.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 01:46pm
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
When you explain it this way, I would have to agree that it most likely "could have" been a push or block.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81artmonk
If as you say the contact could have been incidental, than it would have been a non-call. PLayer A though gained possession about 7 feet prior to player B. PLayer B going for the Rebound too, saw that she didn't get it and than Kept her momentum in order to guard PLayer A. thus the contact and knock down. I see what you are saying, but had it been incidental, than no call should have been made. Rather the Ref saw fit to call it traveling. Which in any stretch of the imagination, could have only been by her falling down without any contact or tripping. Since contact occured, I really don't see his call being correct.
Wrong. If there's incidental contact and then the player travels, it's still traveling. You don't ignore the violation just because there was incidental contact.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
In general, I agree with the answers provided above (foul). However, if the timing is right....A and B get to the ball at the same time and bump each other from equally advantageous positions...I've got no foul....but a travel. While the contact may have caused the other to fall, the contact would not be illegal. Tough luck for the one that falls.

I had this EXACT call (bit at midcourt) in a 2 point game with <10 seconds left a few years ago....both players converged at the ball at nearly full speed. Both got their hands on the ball at the same time. They met belly-to-belly. One pulled a little harder and came away with the ball but also fell down. Travel.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 25, 2007, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Provided that what you "saw" is what happened, I've got a push on B.

However, I'm always cautious on these because I don't know what the Ref saw, where the Ref was, where you were......

I've had a number of instances where a coach, fan or player, from his angle "saw" contact when in fact there was at least a foot of space between the players. The most common occurs on a fast break when the defender catches up to the shooter and takes a swipe, missing everything, but the shooter still blows the basket. From the bench, this can look very much like contact was made. The coach's brain connects the swipe to the miss and concludes contact.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pushing through screens Back In The Saddle Basketball 19 Tue May 23, 2006 07:36pm
Pushing greymule Softball 9 Tue Aug 31, 2004 07:02pm
Pushing out of bounds gostars Basketball 13 Mon Jun 21, 2004 02:20pm
Pushing it Nevadaref Basketball 5 Tue Feb 10, 2004 12:06pm
Pushing foul or traveling violation. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 32 Thu Apr 04, 2002 05:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1