The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
NCAA-Men's T

I was watching Maryland and Virginia Tech tonight and had a question about rules application. A Maryland player got a rebound and was fouled. After the whistle was blown the Maryland player put his hand on the Virginia Tech player's face and pushed him to the floor. Maryland player was whistled for a T. Virginia Tech shot two FT and took the ball out at half court. I thought NCAA was two shots and POI, which would have been a Maryland throw-in for the first foul. I assume I am wrong and not the officials. I would appreciate it if you could set me straight.
__________________
A late whistle is a great whistle
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 11:23pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,158
You are not completely correct. If the officials called an Intentional Technical (Men's Rules only) or Flagrant Technical, both types of technical fouls are enforced with the ball at the division line and ball given to the offended team. Both can only occur during a dead ball like you described. Point of Interruption is used for all other Technical Fouls.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Thank you very much Mr. Rut. The player was not ejected, so no flagrant. It must have been an intentional technical. I do not do NCAA ball (although I would like to soon) and was not aware of the distinction in the technical foul rule. Consider me learned.
__________________
A late whistle is a great whistle
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 12:05am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLMatthew
Thank you very much Mr. Rut. The player was not ejected, so no flagrant. It must have been an intentional technical. I do not do NCAA ball (although I would like to soon) and was not aware of the distinction in the technical foul rule. Consider me learned.
Do not feel bad. There are a lot of officials that do not know the difference either. I have to review them every now and to make sure I understand the differences. I had to even look this up to be sure I was describing the right foul.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Men's NCAA video bulletin ChuckElias Basketball 14 Tue Dec 14, 2004 05:42pm
New NCAA Men's substitution rule Mark Dexter Basketball 3 Sun Nov 14, 2004 07:57pm
ncaa (men's) jritchie Basketball 2 Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:27am
NCAA Men's Question TGR Basketball 6 Thu Jan 16, 2003 01:45pm
NCAA Men's free throw jweiler Basketball 9 Wed Nov 22, 2000 08:34am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1