![]() |
NCAA-Men's T
I was watching Maryland and Virginia Tech tonight and had a question about rules application. A Maryland player got a rebound and was fouled. After the whistle was blown the Maryland player put his hand on the Virginia Tech player's face and pushed him to the floor. Maryland player was whistled for a T. Virginia Tech shot two FT and took the ball out at half court. I thought NCAA was two shots and POI, which would have been a Maryland throw-in for the first foul. I assume I am wrong and not the officials. I would appreciate it if you could set me straight.
|
You are not completely correct. If the officials called an Intentional Technical (Men's Rules only) or Flagrant Technical, both types of technical fouls are enforced with the ball at the division line and ball given to the offended team. Both can only occur during a dead ball like you described. Point of Interruption is used for all other Technical Fouls.
Peace |
Thank you very much Mr. Rut. The player was not ejected, so no flagrant. It must have been an intentional technical. I do not do NCAA ball (although I would like to soon) and was not aware of the distinction in the technical foul rule. Consider me learned.
|
Quote:
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59am. |