The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 21, 2007, 08:58pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Unless you call a techincal for violating 10-3-4 every time a player trying for goal by successfully dunking the ball grasps the rim as a part of the normal dunking motion, causing it to be pulled down between 1 and 4 inches (which, in my experience, happens about 98% of the time on a dunk), I don't advocate calling a technical for violating 10-3-4 when the try by dunking is unsuccessful, as in the OP. And I'm going to go ahead and guess that I'd be laughed out of the gym for calling this in front of my assignors/evaluators - and not in a funny way.

My call: Ball not in the cylinder = no-call.
Sigh....

Whatintheheck does a player grasping the rim after dunking the ball have to do with this play? In the play being discussed, the player grabbed the rim during a loose ball! The player lost control of the ball BEFORE dunking it. There was NO dunk!!! What happened with the ball after the player lost control of it is completely irrelevant as long as the player didn't touch the ball while it was in the cylinder, or touch the basket while the ball was on or within the basket. And the player didn't do either of those acts, as was specifically written in the original post.

And if your assignors/evaluators don't agree with my ruling and want to laugh about it, tell them it might be a good idea to borrow a case book from somebody and read case book play 10.3.4SitB(b) before busting out laughing. This case play is almost exactly the same as the original post. In both situations, a player grabbed the ring, but let go of it before the ball was on the ring or in the basket. Therefore, by rules 9-11 & 4-6, there was no BI. Then, specifically ask them to read the sentence in the RULING of the case play cited above that says "A1's grasping is not penalized if it is judged there was a possibility of injury had he/she not grasped the basket." Iow, it is a technical foul if the ring is grasped when there is no chance of injury.

Your call is wrong.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sun Jan 21, 2007 at 09:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 05:16pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Sigh....

Whatintheheck does a player grasping the rim after dunking the ball have to do with this play? In the play being discussed, the player grabbed the rim during a loose ball! The player lost control of the ball BEFORE dunking it. There was NO dunk!!! What happened with the ball after the player lost control of it is completely irrelevant as long as the player didn't touch the ball while it was in the cylinder, or touch the basket while the ball was on or within the basket. And the player didn't do either of those acts, as was specifically written in the original post.

And if your assignors/evaluators don't agree with my ruling and want to laugh about it, tell them it might be a good idea to borrow a case book from somebody and read case book play 10.3.4SitB(b) before busting out laughing. This case play is almost exactly the same as the original post. In both situations, a player grabbed the ring, but let go of it before the ball was on the ring or in the basket. Therefore, by rules 9-11 & 4-6, there was no BI. Then, specifically ask them to read the sentence in the RULING of the case play cited above that says "A1's grasping is not penalized if it is judged there was a possibility of injury had he/she not grasped the basket." Iow, it is a technical foul if the ring is grasped when there is no chance of injury.

Your call is wrong.
10.3.4.b is not describing an attempted dunk, (let alone one that seemingly involves the shooter losing the ball on the downward stuffing motion of an attempted dunk - just outside the ring). The techincal foul being assessed in situations where the player is not "grasping to avoid injury" do not involve a normal dunking motion/situation/follow-through (whereby the ring is usually grasped/pulled down).

The reason I included the analogy of a player dunking the ball and pulling down the ring as a normal part of the dunking motion is because, by going by the last sentence of 10.3.4.b, this would be a techincal foul. I, however, I do not think it applies.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 06:20pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
10.3.4.b is not describing an attempted dunk, (let alone one that seemingly involves the shooter losing the ball on the downward stuffing motion of an attempted dunk - just outside the ring). The techincal foul being assessed in situations where the player is not "grasping to avoid injury" do not involve a normal dunking motion/situation/follow-through (whereby the ring is usually grasped/pulled down).

The reason I included the analogy of a player dunking the ball and pulling down the ring as a normal part of the dunking motion is because, by going by the last sentence of 10.3.4.b, this would be a techincal foul. I, however, I do not think it applies.
Cool....but you're the one that tried to introduce a dunk when there wasn't one involved. Case book play 10.3.4(b) is close to the play described in the original post. That case play does not reference a dunk in any way. The original play did not involve a dunk either. Pulling the ring down during a dunk was never germane or relevant to the proper ruling. Soooo...please justify your "no call" ruling above for a player grasping the ring during a loose ball, if there's no chance of an injury involving the player. I said it was a technical foul and you basically said that your assignors/evaluators would laugh at me if I made that call. Please give me a rules citation that will justify their laughter.

Btw, what's your answers on Blind Zebra's questions?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 06:27pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Cool....but you're the one that tried to introduce a dunk when there wasn't one involved. Case book play 10.3.4(b) is close to the play described in the original post. That case play does not reference a dunk in any way. The original play did not involve a dunk either. Pulling the ring down during a dunk was never germane or relevant to the proper ruling.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kycat1
A1 on a fast break, goes up for a dunk but loses the ball near the top of his dunking action above the height of the rim but outside the plane of the rim. He brings his hand forward anyway like he was going to dunk the ball and grasps the rim breifly enough to pull it down a few inches.
The OP by kycat1 involves an attempted dunk.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 06:40pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
The OP by kycat1 involves an attempted dunk.
The OP said that dunker LOST control of the ball BEFORE the dunk. There was NEVER a dunk in the original post. There was a loose ball when the player grabbed the ring.

Sooooo....answers now?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 06:46pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The OP said that dunker LOST control of the ball BEFORE the dunk. There was NEVER a dunk in the original post. There was a loose ball when the player grabbed the ring.

Sooooo....answers now?
Same as before.

And incidentally, I said my assignors/evaluators would laugh me out of the gym, not you. I'm sure you'd be able to scare them into nodding in agreement.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The OP said that dunker LOST control of the ball BEFORE the dunk. There was NEVER a dunk in the original post. There was a loose ball when the player grabbed the ring.

Sooooo....answers now?
So, a player going for a layup that has the ball slip off his hand at the last 2nd was never really shooting?

The player was attempting to dunk. At some point in EVERY dunk attempt, the ball comes off the shooter's hand and becomes a loose ball. Most times, it continues down through the net or bounces off the back of the rim. Whether the separation between the hand and the ball occurs as the hand contacts the rim or 0.05 seconds before is not important. It is still a dunk attempt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 07:00pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
So, a player going for a layup that has the ball slip off his hand at the last 2nd was never really shooting?
The player might be in the act of shooting, but he sureasheck isn't able to meet the definition of a "dunk" as in rule 4-16. At no time in the original post, was the player driving, forcing, pushing or attempting to force a ball through the basket with his hand(s). The player lost control of the ball before any of those acts according to the description in the OP.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 06:53pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The OP said that dunker LOST control of the ball BEFORE the dunk. There was NEVER a dunk in the original post. There was a loose ball when the player grabbed the ring.
Indulge me:
A1 attempts to dunk the ball. While the ball is still in A1's hand, on its downward dunking motion, and still just completely outside the cylinder, B1 cleanly strips the ball from A1. A1's hand that just had the ball outside the cylinder, still moving in a downward, normal-speed dunking motion, contacts and brings down the moveable ring of the basket on the follow-through.

Jurassic's call: Technical foul for violation of 10-3-4 (and not meeting the requirement of the 10-3-4-Exception)???
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 06:42pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
A1 attempted a dunk, missed, grabbed the rim, rim did what a break-away rim should and came down, A2 grabbed the rebound and shot, ball was in the cylinder when A1 let go of the rim...but the rim being pulled down has nothing to do with the BI call, A1 can be touching the rim, net or ball in this situation and the call is the same.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Btw, what's your answers on Blind Zebra's questions?
Basket interference. Why, do you have a technical foul for grabbing the rim while not attempting to avoid injury?

Edited to include: Again, I don't know what I was thinking - change the red text to "no call."

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Mon Jan 22, 2007 at 06:59pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 06:48pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Basket interference. Why, do you have a technical foul for grabbing the rim while not attempting to avoid injury?
Basket interference? For grabbing the ring while the ball was in the cylinder? Are you serious?

Methinks you need to go over the definition of basket interference. Please read NFHS rule 4-6. It is not, and never has been, basket interference if a player grabs the ring while the ball is in the cylinder.

That's a pretty basic rule not to know.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 07:00pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Basket interference? For grabbing the ring while the ball was in the cylinder? Are you serious?

Methinks you need to go over the definition of basket interference. Please read NFHS rule 4-6. It is not, and never has been, basket interference if a player grabs the ring while the ball is in the cylinder.

That's a pretty basic rule not to know.
I agree. I don't know what I was thinking, as my edits to those posts now say.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
possible basket interference 4thekids Basketball 9 Tue Apr 25, 2006 01:10am
Basket Interference??? FrankHtown Basketball 7 Mon Feb 14, 2005 04:23pm
Basket Interference or not?? ref18 Basketball 3 Sun Jan 23, 2005 01:09pm
basket interference? chrisall Basketball 20 Thu Feb 27, 2003 08:58am
BASKET INTERFERENCE & T ? johnfox Basketball 5 Fri Feb 21, 2003 01:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1