![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Unless you call a techincal for violating 10-3-4 every time a player trying for goal by successfully dunking the ball grasps the rim as a part of the normal dunking motion, causing it to be pulled down between 1 and 4 inches (which, in my experience, happens about 98% of the time on a dunk), I don't advocate calling a technical for violating 10-3-4 when the try by dunking is unsuccessful, as in the OP. And I'm going to go ahead and guess that I'd be laughed out of the gym for calling this in front of my assignors/evaluators - and not in a funny way.
My call: Ball not in the cylinder = no-call. |
|
|||
|
I had a similar play but A1's shot didn't go in, he back-rimmed the dunk, grabbed the rim and looked down, A2 grabbed the rebound and shot and A1 let go of the rim with the ball in the cylinder on A2's put back.
What do you have on that one?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Edited to include: Please disregard this question - I don't know what I was thinking. Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Mon Jan 22, 2007 at 06:57pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Whatintheheck does a player grasping the rim after dunking the ball have to do with this play? In the play being discussed, the player grabbed the rim during a loose ball! The player lost control of the ball BEFORE dunking it. There was NO dunk!!! What happened with the ball after the player lost control of it is completely irrelevant as long as the player didn't touch the ball while it was in the cylinder, or touch the basket while the ball was on or within the basket. And the player didn't do either of those acts, as was specifically written in the original post.And if your assignors/evaluators don't agree with my ruling and want to laugh about it, tell them it might be a good idea to borrow a case book from somebody and read case book play 10.3.4SitB(b) before busting out laughing. This case play is almost exactly the same as the original post. In both situations, a player grabbed the ring, but let go of it before the ball was on the ring or in the basket. Therefore, by rules 9-11 & 4-6, there was no BI. Then, specifically ask them to read the sentence in the RULING of the case play cited above that says "A1's grasping is not penalized if it is judged there was a possibility of injury had he/she not grasped the basket." Iow, it is a technical foul if the ring is grasped when there is no chance of injury. Your call is wrong. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sun Jan 21, 2007 at 09:00pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The reason I included the analogy of a player dunking the ball and pulling down the ring as a normal part of the dunking motion is because, by going by the last sentence of 10.3.4.b, this would be a techincal foul. I, however, I do not think it applies. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Btw, what's your answers on Blind Zebra's questions? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sooooo....answers now? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And incidentally, I said my assignors/evaluators would laugh me out of the gym, not you. I'm sure you'd be able to scare them into nodding in agreement.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The player was attempting to dunk. At some point in EVERY dunk attempt, the ball comes off the shooter's hand and becomes a loose ball. Most times, it continues down through the net or bounces off the back of the rim. Whether the separation between the hand and the ball occurs as the hand contacts the rim or 0.05 seconds before is not important. It is still a dunk attempt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A1 attempts to dunk the ball. While the ball is still in A1's hand, on its downward dunking motion, and still just completely outside the cylinder, B1 cleanly strips the ball from A1. A1's hand that just had the ball outside the cylinder, still moving in a downward, normal-speed dunking motion, contacts and brings down the moveable ring of the basket on the follow-through. Jurassic's call: Technical foul for violation of 10-3-4 (and not meeting the requirement of the 10-3-4-Exception)??? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
![]() Edited to include: Again, I don't know what I was thinking - change the red text to "no call." Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Mon Jan 22, 2007 at 06:59pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Methinks you need to go over the definition of basket interference. Please read NFHS rule 4-6. It is not, and never has been, basket interference if a player grabs the ring while the ball is in the cylinder. That's a pretty basic rule not to know.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| possible basket interference | 4thekids | Basketball | 9 | Tue Apr 25, 2006 01:10am |
| Basket Interference??? | FrankHtown | Basketball | 7 | Mon Feb 14, 2005 04:23pm |
| Basket Interference or not?? | ref18 | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 01:09pm |
| basket interference? | chrisall | Basketball | 20 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 08:58am |
| BASKET INTERFERENCE & T ? | johnfox | Basketball | 5 | Fri Feb 21, 2003 01:03pm |