The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 276
Throw in spot

During a girls varsity game this past week, the following situation happened. I'm trying to (a) confirm the location of the throw in and (b) locate the "evidence" that my understanding is right (or wrong).

Team A scores a basket. B1 picks up the ball, goes out of bounds along the endline, and starts looking for a teammate to whom she can throw the ball. Not seeing anyone open, and with the count approaching five, B1 throws a pass out to the sideline in front of Team A's bench. Ball does not touch another player before hitting out of bounds.

I was the old lead (when A had the ball), now new trail who was counting along the endline. The ball was thrown out of bounds on my sideline (two-person crew). I signaled the violation and pointed to the spot where B1 had let go of the throw-in attempt as the spot where Team A would be awarded its throw in. My partner blew his whistle and came to me. This is a paraphrase of our conversation (this language is a little more precise than the words we used): Partner says that the ball should be put in play in front of Team A's bench on the sideline because the throw-in violation took place during a live ball. He said that you only go back to the original throw-in spot when it is a dead ball throw in. No, I said, that's not right. He insisted that, because the clock had not stopped, we should be putting the ball in play along the sideline. I don't think the clock running has anything to do with this, I said, and all throw ins are "live ball" throw ins once the ball is at the disposal of the thrower so I'm pretty sure that the live ball/dead ball distinction isn't the key here. In any event, I continued, we're putting the ball in play here (along the endline) because we've got to keep this game moving and we'll try to figure out later who is right.

We put the ball in play along the endline where B1 had thrown the ball.

After the game, I grabbed my rule book and the only relevant rule I could find said that (and I apologize for not having my rule book with me to give a citation or more precise language) a thrower shall throw the ball directly onto the court so that it touches another player on the court. It is a throw in violation to NOT do that. My partner and I couldn't find anything to do with live ball/dead ball distinctions. I told my partner that I still think I'm right but that I thought there was probably a case play that cleared it up. After I got home, I couldn't find a case play in the new case book.

Although I am pretty sure that I got it right, I certainly want to know if I did not. Also, for both my benefit and my partner's (he's not a regular partner, but I did tell him that I'd let him know if I found something more definitive), does anyone know the best source for pointing to why I was right/wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 03:57pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Check out 9-2-2 and the penalty
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
The ball goes back to the spot. The violation is by the thrower. Had B2 caught the ball OOB, then the violation would have been on him and the new throw-in would be from where he touched it. Whether the clock is running or not has zero to do with it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Quote:
He said that you only go back to the original throw-in spot when it is a dead ball throw in.

Is there such a thing as a dead-ball throw-in? (cite 6-2-b)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 05:52pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by JM_00
Is there such a thing as a dead-ball throw-in? (cite 6-2-b)
Do you mean 6-1-2(b)?

Anyhoo.....no, there is no such thing as a dead-ball throw-in. The throw-in doesn't start until the ball become live.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 07:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Throw-in

The ball should go back to the end line to one of the free throw lane-line extend spots nearest where the thrower attempted the throw-in - basically you were correct.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 30, 2006, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,715
bgtg,
YOU were correct. You did it right during the game. The ball comes back to where the thrower was when he threw it. You even have the right rule reference, 9-2-2. Just look at what is written in the penalty section.

PENALTY: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the violation or technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot.

Here is the best case book play that I can find for you:
9.2.8 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1 lobs the throw-in pass toward A2 who is breaking to the basket. The throw-in pass is too high and lodges between the ring and backboard. RULING: Violation by A1 for lodging the untouched throw-in pass. Team B's ball at the throw-in spot. Since A1 violated during an alternating-possession throw-in, Team A has lost the arrow. Team B will have the arrow for the next alternating-possession throw-in. (6-4-5)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Where is Throw-In Spot? IUgrad92 Basketball 2 Wed Oct 20, 2004 04:25am
Throw in Spot Mregor Basketball 7 Mon Feb 24, 2003 08:39pm
Spot Throw-In Viking32 Basketball 4 Wed Feb 12, 2003 07:31am
throw in spot? wmwhelan Basketball 1 Wed Dec 19, 2001 08:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1