The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 18, 2007, 05:32pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarter
Although, now you could probably call that a violation. Why was the player out of bounds in the first place?


Rule 9: Violations and Penalties
Section 3: Out Of Bounds
Article 2


Art. 2... A player shall not leave the floor for an unauthorized reason.
Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
From my experience, you get these comments after a throw-in. The thrower will pass the ball to a team mate and it gets deflected back to the thrower and they are the first to touch it inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 18, 2007, 05:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
the only exception is the dribbler cannot step out of bounds then come back inbounds and be the first to touch.

and jcarter most of the time (99%) players are out of bounds because their momentum carried them there. the other 1% of the time is the violation for the offense and I cannot imagine a defensive violation ever needed to be called for this. the defense might but it would probably be for him chasing after the offensive player who just commited his violation first...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 18, 2007, 11:46pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
the only exception is the dribbler cannot step out of bounds then come back inbounds and be the first to touch.
Not quite, but close. The dribbler could be the first to touch if you rule it an interrupted dribble. IOW, if the dribbler loses control of the ball before going OOB, composes herself, and runs right back in and picks up the dribble again; it's perfectly legal.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 19, 2007, 03:16am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Not quite, but close. The dribbler could be the first to touch if you rule it an interrupted dribble. IOW, if the dribbler loses control of the ball before going OOB, composes herself, and runs right back in and picks up the dribble again; it's perfectly legal.
It's also legal if she doesn't compose herself.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 19, 2007, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It's also legal if she doesn't compose herself.
What if she decomposes herself?

btw, What is Beethoven doing now?

A: Decomposing.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 19, 2007, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
What if she decomposes herself?

btw, What is Beethoven doing now?

A: Decomposing.
So, did you read that on a fortune cookie, too?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 19, 2007, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
So, did you read that on a fortune cookie, too?
No, I think it was a line from the "Dude, someone stole my car" movie.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 18, 2007, 06:07pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
From my experience, you get these comments after a throw-in. The thrower will pass the ball to a team mate and it gets deflected back to the thrower and they are the first to touch it inbounds.


Wasn't the teammate that deflected the ball the first player to touch it in-bounds? And wouldn't it be a legal play anyway if it was deflected and touched the thrower who was now in bounds?

Are you into the ganja again today, Tanner?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The 3 versus 2 fallacies, a mini-rant - "Part deux" imaref Basketball 6 Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:39am
Why "general" and "additional"? Back In The Saddle Basketball 1 Sat Oct 07, 2006 02:56pm
"Balk" or "Ball" johnnyg08 Baseball 9 Fri Aug 18, 2006 08:26am
Charles Barkley's "brutal NBA refs" comments jeffpea Basketball 16 Thu May 18, 2006 10:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1