The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jan 14, 2007, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07
Young Person Needing advice

Hey as some of you know I am 18 years old, a senior in Highschool. I am in my third year reffing my second as a MSHSAA ( Missouri) offical. I love every minuite of it, I read the rule book nightly and do everything possible to learn the game better. In recently thinking about college and stuff I realized I want to continue officiating and dream of some day officiating D1. What are somethings I can do now to help me. My current assignor says that I am just as good if not better then some of the JV refs in our area. Besides doing a godd 7-10 games a week that I do what else can I do.
Thanks
P.S. one thing I know I need is a mentor however I can not find anyone that does college stuff. any ideas on how to find a mentor.
Old Sun Jan 14, 2007, 06:41pm
Official Forum Member

Camps

Try to find a camp or 2 to go to during this coming summer. That will go a long ways to helping you move up.
Old Sun Jan 14, 2007, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
I wouldn't worry too much about finding a college mentor at this stage. A good hs mentor will serve you well for the next few years. Go to a D1 college where you can work the table and ref some really top notch intramurals. Work hs ball, too. You are starting young enough that you can afford to work your way up to the college level over 5 or 6 years. Keep thinking college, but work hard at hs for the next three years or so.
Old Sun Jan 14, 2007, 08:01pm
Official Forum Member

Go to a lot of games at the level(s) you want to ref and watch the officials. Watch their game management and how they communicate. Get a feel for how they call things. Analyze their calls--anticipate the calls and decide what you would have called.