The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Wrestling
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Dec 06, 2005, 12:04am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Orangeguy06
I posted this in the football forums also but thought I would try my luck here as well. Doesn't look like this is a very active forum but I always value the advice of someone involved in wrestling.

Hello. I'm new to the boards and officiating. Right now I'm a sophmore (20 years old) at the University of Minnesota. I've been pretty much a year round wrestler and avid football watcher since I was young. I was a referee for the wrestling youth league back home but that wasn't anything serious. However, lately I've found myself thinking about becoming an official for football games and possibly wrestling matches...alot. I've done some reading and it seems like it wouldn't be too difficult to start at the local high school ranks, and from what I've read sounds as enjoyable as I've envisioned it to be.

My question to you more experienced guys is this. Am I too young to try my hand at officiating high school sports? I know both the sports well, willing to learn and am an intelligent guy. Thanks in advance for any advice you guys have to offer.
Old Tue Dec 06, 2005, 07:17pm
Official Forum Member

If you are not in high school you are not too young to officiate high school events. the younger you start, the more realistic your chances of advancing to the highest levels( with the necc. hard work).
Old Wed Dec 07, 2005, 08:51am
Official Forum Member

Never too young

You are probably at the perfect age to get started.