The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 14, 2007, 09:37pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Not under NCAA rules either. So there goes the "active college official" excuse.
The only thing I can think of is that he might be an IAABO rules interpreter. You know what they're like some times.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 14, 2007, 09:41pm
Huck Finn
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,347
I would suggest you might not want to believe what you supervisor tells you from now on. At least look things up for yourself because he/she is wrong. Plain and simple, being a college official does not mean you automatically know the rules. Just like high school basketball, officials take many paths to get to where they are. Unfortunately, many of them can get to a high level without knowing the rules and/or "gasp" being able to officiate.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 14, 2007, 11:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Your supervisor is about two years behind in his rules knowledge.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to swkansasref33
Wouldn't they be false double-fouls though?
Case Book Pg. 80 Rule 10.3.8

Last edited by swkansasref33; Mon Jan 15, 2007 at 03:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 03:48pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkansasref33
Wouldn't they be false double-fouls though?
Case Book Pg. 80 Rule 10.3.8
Um, yeah....

It's a false double foul consisting of a common foul called on a team A player followed by a double technical foul on a player from each team. As such, it gets handled the exact way that's been posted so far.

I must be missing the point that you're trying to make. Could you clarify?
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkansasref33
Wouldn't they be false double-fouls though?
Case Book Pg. 80 Rule 10.3.8
There is a false double foul, the second half of which is a double foul (T's on both A2 and B2 for "exchanging greetings"). How does that change the ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to swkansasref33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um, yeah....

It's a false double foul consisting of a common foul called on a team A player followed by a double technical foul on a player from each team. As such, it gets handled the exact way that's been posted so far.

I must be missing the point that you're trying to make. Could you clarify?

Maybe the difference in the situation we went over is that they were 2 FLAGRANT T's, and not just two technicals. Here is the exact situation they gave us in our Meeting.

Team A #42 is fouled in b/c (A is in double bonus). Team B #12 who committed the foul, shoves fouled player from Team A #43. A Flagrant T is called on B #12, and B #12 is ejected. Before the fouls are reported, Team A #32 (not player who was fouled) shoves disqualified B #12. A Flagrant T is called, and A #32 is also ejected.

Answer-
The situation is a false double-foul (the second of which occurs befoer the clock is started following the first). And since a false double foul carries its own penalty-we would shoot two free throws fore each team and then Team B would take the ball out at the divison line

So you would: (administer penalties in order the fouls occured)
Shoot personal foul FT by A #42
Shoot Technical Foul FT by Team A
Shoot Technical Foul FT by Team B
Take the ball out at the division line by Team B
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 04:05pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkansasref33
Maybe the difference in the situation we went over is that they were 2 FLAGRANT T's, and not just two technicals. Here is the exact situation they gave us in our Meeting.

Team A #42 is fouled in b/c (A is in double bonus). Team B #12 who committed the foul, shoves fouled player from Team A #43. A Flagrant T is called on B #12, and B #12 is ejected. Before the fouls are reported, Team A #32 (not player who was fouled) shoves disqualified B #12. A Flagrant T is called, and A #32 is also ejected.

Answer-
The situation is a false double-foul (the second of which occurs befoer the clock is started following the first). And since a false double foul carries its own penalty-we would shoot two free throws fore each team and then Team B would take the ball out at the divison line

So you would: (administer penalties in order the fouls occured)
Shoot personal foul FT by A #42
Shoot Technical Foul FT by Team A
Shoot Technical Foul FT by Team B
Take the ball out at the division line by Team B
Um, yeah.......

That's a false double foul but it's a different situation entirely. You handle it exactly the same way as you handle the situation in the original post of this thread..i.e. you penalize each foul in the order that they occur. In your case you've got a foul followed by a false double foul. In the OP there is just a false double foul. The difference is that in your situation, the official ruled that that the technical fouls by B12 and A32 weren't committed at approximately the same time and thus didn't meet the definition of a double foul. Iow, apples and oranges from the original situation posted.

I still fail to see what point you're trying to make.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Jan 15, 2007 at 04:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to swkansasref33
How is the situation different? In his case, you have a rebounding foul, then two technicals. I don't see the difference, other than the Flagrant T's. Can you clarify the difference for me please?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 04:27pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkansasref33
How is the situation different? In his case, you have a rebounding foul, then two technicals. I don't see the difference, other than the Flagrant T's. Can you clarify the difference for me please?
In the case that you posted, the official ruled that the flagrant technical fouls did NOT occur at the same time. They were different plays iow. They were sequential, not together. If he hadda ruled that they occurred at approximately the same time, then they would have been a double technical foul as per NFHS rule 4-19-8(b). He didn't rule that the technical fouls occurred at the same time, so they fall under NFHS rule 4-19-9 instead.

The situation that you posted is completely different than the original post of this thread, and as such is covered by a different rule.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkansasref33
Maybe the difference in the situation we went over is that they were 2 FLAGRANT T's, and not just two technicals. Here is the exact situation they gave us in our Meeting.

Team A #42 is fouled in b/c (A is in double bonus). Team B #12 who committed the foul, shoves fouled player from Team A #43. A Flagrant T is called on B #12, and B #12 is ejected. Before the fouls are reported, Team A #32 (not player who was fouled) shoves disqualified B #12. A Flagrant T is called, and A #32 is also ejected.
It has nothing to do with the fouls being flagrant. Compare your play (above) to a very similar play:

Team A #42 is fouled in b/c (A is in double bonus). Team B #12 who committed the foul, shoves fouled player from Team A #43. At the same time A43 shoves B12 back. A Flagrant T is called on B #12 and on A43 and both players are ejected.

Ruling:

No FTs are shot for the double T.

A42 shoots two FTs with players on the line and the ball remains in play after the second FT.

See the difference?
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 662
Send a message via AIM to johnSandlin Send a message via Yahoo to johnSandlin
Jurassic Referee,

No disrespect intended, but my supervisor is bar none the best rules based official that I know of be it high school rules or college rules. I trust his knowledge completely.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 05:28pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnSandlin
Jurassic Referee,

No disrespect intended, but my supervisor is bar none the best rules based official that I know of be it high school rules or college rules. I trust his knowledge completely.
John, if your supervisor is the best rules based official in your area, then you have a major, major problem, rules-wise imo.

Your supervisor is unequivocally and completely wrong, by the very explicit rules already cited. Your supervisor would be wise to send this play into the NFHS office and get their ruling on it. Your supervisor would also be wise to send this play into the NCAA office and get their ruling on it also. As it stands right now, your supervisor has the unique distinction of being totally and completely wrong in two different rulesets. And, unfortunately, his followers are drinking the koolaid.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 06:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 662
Send a message via AIM to johnSandlin Send a message via Yahoo to johnSandlin
J. Referee,

Thank you for your thoughts. I still disagree, but I do appreciate your thoughts and opinions concerning my original post.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 07:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnSandlin
J. Referee,

Thank you for your thoughts. I still disagree, but I do appreciate your thoughts and opinions concerning my original post.
John, quite seriously, I think that you would be wise in this case to check out another source on this one other than the supervisor that you mentioned. Disregard me, but....some of the other officials in this thread who also disagreed with your supervisor are very competent college officials and are also extremely reliable sources when it comes to rules interpretations. I'd sure stop and think myself if they collectively told me that I had a ruling wrong on something.

Just saying.....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1