The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 15, 2007, 08:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnSandlin
At the time of this game, I agreed with your response 100%. But after the discussion with my supervisor, who is also an active college womens official, we did do this wrong.

The double foul happened during dead ball time. Where we made the mistake(s) was (1) totally never thought about the fact that this happened on a dead ball. (2) Cannot have a double personal foul during a dead ball.

It should have been a double T. Shoot bonus FT's with the lane cleared for the original live ball foul during the rebounding action. Use the AP arrow for the double T after the FT's for the original foul at the POI.
The administration of a double T and a double personal are the same. POI.

Case play 4.19.8D deals with a double personal during a free throw. POI, shoot the free throw with everyone lined up.

Case play 4.19.8A (b) deals with a double T (two players fouling each other during a dead ball.) POI is defined the same in either case.

Rule 4-36 clearly states that POI is identical for both situations. Line them up and shoot. No longer do we go to the arrow for double Ts.

What logic is your supervisor using to have different POI for double personals as opposed to double technicals?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1