The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jan 14, 2007, 03:56am
Official Forum Member

Administering False Double Fouls

I'm a rookie (go easy on me!), and officiate under NCAA rules. I become very confused when trying to administer false double fouls in cases where the two teams commit a personal foul and a technical foul.

Here are the cases that confuse me (and the recently occurred):

1) A1 is driving, and gets fouled by B1 on the shot (block is called, B1 goes down). A1 misses the shot, then tosses the ball down onto B1 (not hard, not flagrant). I call a direct technical.
a) should I have called an intentional technical foul since there was contact? (I know it was not enough to warrant a flagrant technical)
b) If I call a direct technical, do I administer the fouls in the order they occured? (i.e. clear the lane of all players, let A1 shoot 2 shots, then a player from team B shoot 2, and give team B the ball nearest to where the technical occurred?
I am having trouble interpreting the rulebook: In the case of a false double foul or a false multiple foul, each foul shall carry its own penalty. When one of the fouls is a direct or indirect technical foul, the ball shall be put back in play at the point of interruption.

Does this mean my ruling in b) is right, or does it mean I should have team B shoot the technical shots and then proceed with A1s foul shots (lanes occupied) as that is the POI?

Basically, I am confused when to shoot the technicals first, and wondered if there was a good rule of thumb (how much different would it have been if I had called an intentional technical or even a flagrant technical?)

Thanks, and I'm sorry if this is a common thread - I checked back over the last 8 pages, and couldn't find anything about it, and I tried reading the rulebook, but again, got a little confused.
Old Sun Jan 14, 2007, 09:31am