The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 06:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to swkansasref33
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Ok...she dribbled, took a shot at the opponent's basket, then got the rebound. Something in the back of my mind says that's a double dribble.
Isnt it only a double dribble if the ball DOES NOT touch the rim?

Say A1 dribbles, then shoots a 3. Ball bounces off rim back to A1, who drives to the hoop and makes a layup? What's the call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkansasref33
Isnt it only a double dribble if the ball DOES NOT touch the rim?

Say A1 dribbles, then shoots a 3. Ball bounces off rim back to A1, who drives to the hoop and makes a layup? What's the call?
Irrelavant. By definition it is not even a shot since it is at the wrong basket. Player catches ball after dribbling, throws the ball up in the air towards the opponents goal (may or may not hit the backboard or rim) then catches the ball. You've got one of two things: a travel (if it didn't hit anything) or an illegal dribble (if it did hit).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 06:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkansasref33
Isnt it only a double dribble if the ball DOES NOT touch the rim?

Say A1 dribbles, then shoots a 3. Ball bounces off rim back to A1, who drives to the hoop and makes a layup? What's the call?
Illegal dribble as soon as A1 caught the rebound of the missed 3. Read case book play 4.15.4SitC(a).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 23, 2007, 07:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to swkansasref33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Illegal dribble as soon as A1 caught the rebound of the missed 3. Read case book play 4.15.4SitC(a).
thanks.. ill get on it
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 01:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Illegal dribble as soon as A1 caught the rebound of the missed 3. Read case book play 4.15.4SitC(a).
Does it matter if the shot at the opponents basket does not hit the backboard, and only hits the rim? A1 shoots at the opponent's basket, the shot rebounds off of the edge of the rim and is caught by A1. I'm asking because the rule only mentions the backboard.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 06:45am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaellis
Does it matter if the shot at the opponents basket does not hit the backboard, and only hits the rim?
No, because it's not a "shot". It's considered a "dribble".
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
No, because it's not a "shot". It's considered a "dribble".
Except that his point was to ask whether its a dribble if it doesn't hit the backboard but only the rim (or perhaps nothing at all....an airball). Is the rim considered part of the backboard for the purposes of this rule or is the rim simply another object floating in space? If the latter (or it was an airball), you can't have illegal dribble but you could have traveling.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Except that his point was to ask whether its a dribble if it doesn't hit the backboard but only the rim (or perhaps nothing at all....an airball). Is the rim considered part of the backboard for the purposes of this rule or is the rim simply another object floating in space? If the latter (or it was an airball), you can't have illegal dribble but you could have traveling.
In this case, who cares? Wrong signal, maybe, same result.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Annoyed the heck out of me Dakota Softball 11 Mon Sep 22, 2003 03:21pm
Hey, Mark, where the heck are you? rainmaker Basketball 5 Mon Sep 30, 2002 08:05am
What the heck. . .he just spit at me! jumpmaster Baseball 8 Tue Jul 23, 2002 11:17am
Very minor point, but what the heck - it's summer Mark Padgett Basketball 4 Wed Aug 02, 2000 08:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1