The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 12, 2007, 02:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Daddy
That might be the source of the coach's confusion. That is not an NFHS mechanic and not everyone does it. Here anyway. We were warned in a clinic to try and avoid it.

If you must, or choose to signal two's, do it discreetly after traveling down court and not right at the point the bll is released.
I thought that the covering official was to indicate two points when there was doubt as to whether the try was a two or a three. I don't recall where I read this, perhaps in the Officials Manual. Someone will come along and post the reference, if it exists.

Otherwise, my only comment in this thread is that Rut is correct. This is a correctable error situation. It is for erroneously counting or cancelling a score. There are even case book plays which say so.


2.10.1 SITUATION F: A1 attempts a goal from behind the three-point line: (a) but the covering official fails to give the successful signal after the ball goes through the basket, and the scorer records only two points; or (b) and the covering official gives the successful signal, but the scorer records only two points. Team B inbounds the ball and proceeds to score. The coach of Team A goes to the table and requests a 60-second time-out to discuss the error. RULING: In (a), the error of not awarding three points is correctable as it was detected prior to the second live ball after the error. The extra point is scored, the 60-second time-out is not charged and the game continues from the point of interruption. In (b), it is a mistake by the scorer which can be corrected any time until the final score has been approved.

2.10.1 SITUATION G: A1 jumps and releases a try for goal apparently from behind the three-point line. The try is successful. The covering official does not indicate a three-point try and does not signal three points after the goal. The Team A coach rushes to the table and requests a 60-second time-out to discuss a correctable error. It is determined neither official clearly observed A1's location before he/she jumped to try. RULING: No change can be made and two points are properly scored. The 60-second time-out remains charged to Team A. (5-8-4)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Point of interuption or not?? VaCoach Basketball 2 Wed Jan 18, 2006 08:10am
What's the point? refTN Basketball 11 Thu Aug 11, 2005 05:24am
What's the Point? tarheelcoach Basketball 63 Thu Jan 27, 2005 04:32pm
At what point..... w_sohl Baseball 2 Mon May 10, 2004 01:01pm
at what point George Heagerty Basketball 14 Mon Dec 27, 1999 04:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1