![]() |
|
|
|||
point discrepancy
Freshman tournament, I am T partner is L. Play occurs on his side. Girl shoots. I assume that it is a 3, because I see his arm go up as if to give prelim. signal. I give the "it's good signal" and head down court. I am not sure how much time went by, maybe 35 seconds, the table buzzes us over. The visiting coach wants and explanation on the shot. She swears that one of us gave a two signal and the other a three. As it turned out the L could not remember the shot or any part of the play. He said since there was doubt between the two of us we had to count it as a two. This after granting the shooting team three points on that particular shot. My question is did we handle it correctly.
__________________
Everything rises and falls under leadership |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() What did the scorekeeper remember seeing as the signal? If she saw your 3 signal and nothing from your partner to contradict it then I say you stick with the 3 since there is no definite knowlege that you could use to change the basket to a 2.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Jan 11, 2007 at 09:25pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Sounds like a correctable error situation.
Well this is a correctable error situation under Rule 2-10-1e. You cannot change the score if the time frame has past (it is likely with 35 seconds passing, but it is not very clear). So if you awarded a point that should not have been awarded, it is too late to go back at any time and change that. If this was a simple scorekeeper mistake it could be changed at anytime. The scorekeeper only put up points that you told them to. I am sure there might be some debate about this, but I do not think you can go back and change it after the time frame as elapsed.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Kick Partner in ***
I would prod your partner to think back hard. Did he or she signal for a good 3 in the past few minutes? If he or she can't remeber that, you have bigger problems that the one point in discussion.
![]()
__________________
HoopRef95 ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
On the call in question, if the lead has a 3 attempt and it goes in it's not the T's call to count it. You mirror the L's signal. I think the T was wrong in signalling anything when the ball went in unless the L signaled first. The T mirrors the call the L does not mirror the T's signal (if that makes sense).
__________________
Larry Ledbetter NFHS, NCAA, NAIA The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun "Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy |
|
|||
Quote:
If you must, or choose to signal two's, do it discreetly after traveling down court and not right at the point the bll is released.
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun "Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Not Sure
I'm not sure that this situation falls under the time frame guidelines of the correctable error. It may be a clerical error situation, which can be corrected until the officials leave the confines of the gymnasium at the end of the game.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Otherwise, my only comment in this thread is that Rut is correct. This is a correctable error situation. It is for erroneously counting or cancelling a score. There are even case book plays which say so. 2.10.1 SITUATION F: A1 attempts a goal from behind the three-point line: (a) but the covering official fails to give the successful signal after the ball goes through the basket, and the scorer records only two points; or (b) and the covering official gives the successful signal, but the scorer records only two points. Team B inbounds the ball and proceeds to score. The coach of Team A goes to the table and requests a 60-second time-out to discuss the error. RULING: In (a), the error of not awarding three points is correctable as it was detected prior to the second live ball after the error. The extra point is scored, the 60-second time-out is not charged and the game continues from the point of interruption. In (b), it is a mistake by the scorer which can be corrected any time until the final score has been approved. 2.10.1 SITUATION G: A1 jumps and releases a try for goal apparently from behind the three-point line. The try is successful. The covering official does not indicate a three-point try and does not signal three points after the goal. The Team A coach rushes to the table and requests a 60-second time-out to discuss a correctable error. It is determined neither official clearly observed A1's location before he/she jumped to try. RULING: No change can be made and two points are properly scored. The 60-second time-out remains charged to Team A. (5-8-4) |
|
|||
I don't think this is a matter of whether it's correctable or not. I think the issue is that there's no direct knowledge whether it's a 3 or a 2. In that case, go with what's called and play on.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Point of interuption or not?? | VaCoach | Basketball | 2 | Wed Jan 18, 2006 08:10am |
What's the point? | refTN | Basketball | 11 | Thu Aug 11, 2005 05:24am |
What's the Point? | tarheelcoach | Basketball | 63 | Thu Jan 27, 2005 04:32pm |
At what point..... | w_sohl | Baseball | 2 | Mon May 10, 2004 01:01pm |
at what point | George Heagerty | Basketball | 14 | Mon Dec 27, 1999 04:03pm |