The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via MSN to swkansasref33
Direct Technicals to Bench Players

This is my first year being certified for HS basketball. I had a HS girls freshman basketball game last friday nite. Early in the game, my partner made a good no-call on shot, and a few players on the bench for Team A stood up and yelled "thats not a foul?" right in my ear. I turn around, and say to the head coach "please control your bench". This happened a few more times in the first half. In the second half, Team A brings the ball down the court, drives to the hoop, loses control of the ball, and the same two players stood up and said "thats not a foul either?". Once again, going back down the court, I turn to the coach and say "Coach, please control your bench". With a little under three minutes to play in the game, Team A brings the ball up the court, and passes to the block, A1 turns into B1, and B1 commits incidental contact with A1. A1 passes the ball to A2, and as A2 shoots a 3 pointer, the same player on Team A's bench jumps up, looks at me, and screams "And that's not a foul either?". I T up the player, and report it as a Direct Technical to that player, not as an Indirect to the Coach. Since A1's try is in flight, we count the shot.
Was this the correct procedure for this situation? And did I handle it correctly?
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Early in the game, my partner made a good no-call on shot, and a few players on the bench for Team A stood up and yelled "thats not a foul?" right in my ear.
WHACK! Right there. No problems the rest of the game. No way anyone, ESPECIALLY a bench player, is going to scream at me.