![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
For FIBA the rule holds also during a throw-in from a spot adjacent to the front court. There is also no safety provision for a defensive player catching the ball while airborne and landing in the back court. A player in FIBA can have both front court and back court status, for example receiving a pass having one foot in the back court and the other in the front court. In this case there is no violation if the ball comes from the back court, but now the ball has front court status. So the player cannot lift the foot in the front court or pass the ball to another player in the same position. It is not allowed to return the ball in the back court. So far the rule makes sense, it is just different from NCAA's and Fed's. Where the rule is very weak is regarding a dribbler who is crossing the division line. Strictly speaking, if the dribbler has both feet in the back court and bounces the ball in the front court, it would be a violation; but no officials is calling it, of course. What we look for is the global movement of the dribbler: if it is forward, no call. The same if the dribbler stops at the line for a moment and then goes forward. The problem is when the dribbler finds a defender just over the division line and turns their back to them. It can happen that both feet go in the front court and the ball bounces in the back court. Again, if the global movement is forward, no official calls the violation. It would be much clearer if the rule were as NCAA's. Alas, it isn't. ![]() Ciao |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
FIBA Rules | WhistlesAndStripes | Basketball | 9 | Tue Feb 21, 2006 01:26am |
FIBA | ChrisSportsFan | Basketball | 1 | Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:09am |
FIBA and NF | ref18 | Basketball | 65 | Fri Aug 01, 2003 03:11pm |
FIBA | Oz Referee | Basketball | 7 | Sun Jun 10, 2001 12:39am |
FIBA | Mark Dexter | Basketball | 2 | Mon Apr 09, 2001 04:23am |