The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
FIBA defines establishing Frontcourt status as having "one point" in the front court, compared to the three points from NCAA and I think Fed.

Therefore, the rules for determining when a violation has occurred can be thought of the same way in all rule sets as long as you have established court position first.

I think this makes sense! So confused.....
There are many differences between NCAA and FIBA regarding the "ball in the back court".

For FIBA the rule holds also during a throw-in from a spot adjacent to the front court. There is also no safety provision for a defensive player catching the ball while airborne and landing in the back court.

A player in FIBA can have both front court and back court status, for example receiving a pass having one foot in the back court and the other in the front court. In this case there is no violation if the ball comes from the back court, but now the ball has front court status. So the player cannot lift the foot in the front court or pass the ball to another player in the same position. It is not allowed to return the ball in the back court.

So far the rule makes sense, it is just different from NCAA's and Fed's.

Where the rule is very weak is regarding a dribbler who is crossing the division line. Strictly speaking, if the dribbler has both feet in the back court and bounces the ball in the front court, it would be a violation; but no officials is calling it, of course. What we look for is the global movement of the dribbler: if it is forward, no call. The same if the dribbler stops at the line for a moment and then goes forward.

The problem is when the dribbler finds a defender just over the division line and turns their back to them. It can happen that both feet go in the front court and the ball bounces in the back court. Again, if the global movement is forward, no official calls the violation.

It would be much clearer if the rule were as NCAA's. Alas, it isn't.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2007, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy
...A player in FIBA can have both front court and back court status, for example receiving a pass having one foot in the back court and the other in the front court...What we look for is the global movement of the dribbler: if it is forward, no call. The same if the dribbler stops at the line for a moment and then goes forward...
There appears to be a contradiction between having both front and back court status and the concept of global movement. Once they reach the front court with one point, they establish front court status, with allowance for global movement. I don't see where the FIBA book discusses dual status. As a concept for clarification, I see your point.
__________________
He may be mad, but there's method in his madness. There nearly always is method in madness. It's what drives men mad, being methodical.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FIBA Rules WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 9 Tue Feb 21, 2006 01:26am
FIBA ChrisSportsFan Basketball 1 Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:09am
FIBA and NF ref18 Basketball 65 Fri Aug 01, 2003 03:11pm
FIBA Oz Referee Basketball 7 Sun Jun 10, 2001 12:39am
FIBA Mark Dexter Basketball 2 Mon Apr 09, 2001 04:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1