![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
Over and Back - Please help on this hard to find rule
Team A passes the ball into the front court to Player 1. Player 2 jumps from the backcourt toward the frontcourt and is in mid air when he receives a pass from Player 1 (who has both feet and the ball established in the frontcourt). Player 2 has not established himself in the frontcourt at all. Would this be considered a backcourt violation??? And, if so, where can I find this in the official rules?
This is in a High School setting. Thanks for your help! ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by lorenj; Tue Jan 09, 2007 at 11:16pm. |
|
|||
lorenj cited National Federation of High Schools basketball rule 4-35-3, which reads:
The location of an airborne player with reference to the three factors of Article 1 is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher. The Article 1 reference (4-35-1) reads: The location of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the player is touching the floor as far as being: a. Inbounds or out of bounds. b. In the frontcourt or backcourt. c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line. |
|
|||
Quote:
Does Team A have team control? What status (fc or bc) did A2 have when he jumped? So what status does the ball have once he touches it? Is the division line in the fc or the bc? When A2 lands and touches the division line, what status does he and thus the ball now have? Now answer your own question. Do you have a violation here? |
|
|||
Isn't this one of the exceptions to the backcourt violation - written for inbounds passes? I can't remember the rule reference - but I do remember there are specific exceptions, and I thought that situation was one of them.
Quote:
__________________
David A. Rinke II |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Exceptions occur when there is no team control. Jump ball, throw-in and defensive player (intercepting pass). Exception only applys to the player catching the ball while both feet are not touching the floor. I include this Rule in all my pregame discussion. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
David A. Rinke II |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Look Back Rule | BuggBob | Softball | 7 | Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:32am |
Look Back Rule ??? | 3afan | Softball | 2 | Sun Apr 04, 2004 12:03am |
LBR [look back rule] | whiskers_ump | Softball | 2 | Sun Jan 11, 2004 12:04pm |
Cannot find NFHS rule | IUgrad92 | Basketball | 20 | Wed Feb 12, 2003 10:38am |
Please find rule | shipwreck | Softball | 6 | Tue Jul 24, 2001 10:16pm |