The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
Post dribble?

When I was first learning to play the game, I was told you are not allowed to dribble with two hands at the same time. This would be a double dribble.

Can a post player who catches the ball on the post put the ball on the deck with a two-handed dribble? Isn't this double dribble?

What about a player who catches an inbound pass with two hand and in continuous motion with the catch begind his dribble by forcing the ball to the flooe with both hands. Double dribble?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 04:42pm
PAOfficial
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Rule 4-15-1

A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.



Rule 4-14-4-c

The dribble ends when:
c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
IOW, you can start the dribble with both hands, but if you touch it with both hands again at the same time, it becomes a new dribble.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
When I was first learning to play the game, I was told you are not allowed to dribble with two hands at the same time. This would be a double dribble.

Can a post player who catches the ball on the post put the ball on the deck with a two-handed dribble? Isn't this double dribble?

What about a player who catches an inbound pass with two hand and in continuous motion with the catch begind his dribble by forcing the ball to the flooe with both hands. Double dribble?
If I understand your post correctly, what you are describing is a player starting their dribble. A player can start a dribble by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor. There is no restriction that a dribble be started with one hand. After beginning a dribble, if a player touched the ball with both hands, the dribble would then be ended. If they dribbled again, that would be a double-dribble violation.
__________________
"To learn, you have to listen. To improve, you have to try." (Thomas Jefferson)
Z
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
Thank you all ... you would not be allowed to start the dribble by fisting it to the floor or punching it with a closed fist. That would be a violation, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
Thank you all ... you would not be allowed to start the dribble by fisting it to the floor or punching it with a closed fist. That would be a violation, correct?
Yes, but not a dribbling violation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by mplagrow
IOW, you can start the dribble with both hands, but if you touch it with both hands again at the same time, it becomes a new dribble.
So if a player starts his dribble with both hands and then catches it with both hands, that's becomes a new dribble?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
So if a player starts his dribble with both hands and then catches it with both hands, that's becomes a new dribble?

I forgot how literal we all are here!
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 08, 2007, 09:44am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
When I was first learning to play the game, I was told you are not allowed to dribble with two hands at the same time. This would be a double dribble.

Can a post player who catches the ball on the post put the ball on the deck with a two-handed dribble? Isn't this double dribble?
And beginning a dribble with 2-hands is not limited to post-players. Even though is would look pretty stupid for a guard to do it out in the middle of the court.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 08, 2007, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 115
How about after a player has ended their dribble, Can that player, while holding the ball with both hands, now touch the floor with the ball and bring it back up to waist level, all the time holding onto the ball. Is there a violation here? I say no violation.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 08, 2007, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by wfd21
How about after a player has ended their dribble, Can that player, while holding the ball with both hands, now touch the floor with the ball and bring it back up to waist level, all the time holding onto the ball. Is there a violation here? I say no violation.
4-15-4 Note 3.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 08, 2007, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
4-15-4 Note 3.
I love it when Bob just provides the rule reference and makes you go look it up yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 08, 2007, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
you are referring to a power dribble -- in the post players are taught the power dribble -- one hard dribble with both hands to enable them to make their "power" move -- usually into the paint or enable a drop step or up and under.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dribble/fumble/dribble scat03 Basketball 6 Wed Oct 25, 2006 06:41pm
When is a dribble a dribble? basketballen Basketball 19 Mon Apr 03, 2006 06:49am
the end of a dribble ysong Basketball 14 Sat Mar 26, 2005 02:15pm
Can you dribble again? zanzibar Basketball 3 Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:26am
What's an "air dribble"? EL Basketball 6 Wed Jan 12, 2000 02:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1