The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 12:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Slapping backboard

Saw an interesting play some time back. What would you have called? A is in a fast break. A5 puts up a shot in the paint from about 8 feet. While ball was in the air, B12 jumps up from about the last block and slaps the backboard. Not really an attempt to block or at best a very bad attempt... just a slap. What would you have called?
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 12:38am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
T
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 01:07am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,184
This is why we get paid the big bucks. It is hard to tell by your description what really was happening. But if the slap had nothing to do with a block, then call the T.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 02:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
A play similar to this seems to happen to me every night.

If the defender is making a legitimate attempt - in the official's judgement - to block the shot ... play on. If not, it's a T.

The next part to this is always if the ball is IN the cylinder. You could have BI or again ... nothing and play on.

Am I correct veteran oficials?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 02:25am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
How do you have BI? The backboard is not part of the basket. It's a T or nothing.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 02:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
A play similar to this seems to happen to me every night.

If the defender is making a legitimate attempt - in the official's judgement - to block the shot ... play on. If not, it's a T.

The next part to this is always if the ball is IN the cylinder. You could have BI or again ... nothing and play on.

Am I correct veteran oficials?
You are correct, I got confused and always seem to when discussing this type of play. If the ball is in the cylinder and the slapping of the backboard causes the try to miss. It is a Tech and the try is no good. No BI. Only BI if the player hits rim or net, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 02:52am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
Only BI if the player hits rim or net, correct?
It's BI if a player from either team hits the rim/net while the ball is on or within the basket or if they touch the ball while it is in the cone over the basket.

GT is hitting the ball on the way down above the basket ring when the shot has a chance to go in. GT also applies after the ball leaves a FT shooter's hands while it is still outside the cylinder, but it also only applies to an opponent of the FT shooter.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It's BI if a player from either team hits the rim/net while the ball is on or within the basket or if they touch the ball while it is in the cone over the basket.
Is that the cone of verticality?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
Is that the cone of verticality?
You're up early this morning Juulie.....

Personally I like "the cone of silence" (from an old TV sitcom)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 11:13am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor
You're up early this morning Juulie.....

Personally I like "the cone of silence" (from an old TV sitcom)
When it comes to wimmen, so do I......
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
If the ball is in the cylinder and the slapping of the backboard causes the try to miss. It is a Tech and the try is no good.
Got a rule reference on that one?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Good responses. In the game I watched all three whistles remained silent. I've worked with these guys and watched them for years. These were three GOOD guys. I didn't get to talk to them after the game so I can only surmise that either they felt it was a bad but legitimate attempt to block or that the slap, which wasn't very hard didntt shake the basket or have an impact upon the shot. My instinct tells me #1.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 01:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
The impact on the shot shouldn't matter, by rule. If the slap is a legimate attempt at a block, it's not a tech no matter what the shot does. If the shot is not a legitimate block attempt, it is a tech no matter what the shot does.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It's BI if a player from either team hits the rim/net while the ball is on or within the basket or if they touch the ball while it is in the cone over the basket.
A cone needs to come to a point, so I don't think it applies to the BI rule. - Mr. Annoying Geometry Guy.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2007, 04:18pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
A cone needs to come to a point, so I don't think it applies to the BI rule. - Mr. Annoying Geometry Guy.
Oh.....

I get the concept now.

A cylinder is like Dilbert's head.

A cone is like your head.

Thanks for clearing that up, Mr. Dexter. I just nominated you for Teacher of the Year.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slapping of the backboard timharris Basketball 2 Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:09pm
Slapping the Backboard rpirtle Basketball 22 Wed Feb 05, 2003 10:16am
slapping backboard BigDave Basketball 24 Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:53pm
Slapping Backboard tschriver Basketball 2 Tue Nov 20, 2001 10:18pm
Slapping backboard db Basketball 3 Sat Jan 06, 2001 02:04am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1