The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Slapping backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30653-slapping-backboard.html)

refnrev Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:28am

Slapping backboard
 
Saw an interesting play some time back. What would you have called? A is in a fast break. A5 puts up a shot in the paint from about 8 feet. While ball was in the air, B12 jumps up from about the last block and slaps the backboard. Not really an attempt to block or at best a very bad attempt... just a slap. What would you have called?

Adam Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:38am

T <i></i>

JRutledge Sat Jan 06, 2007 01:07am

This is why we get paid the big bucks. It is hard to tell by your description what really was happening. But if the slap had nothing to do with a block, then call the T.

Peace

Johnny Ringo Sat Jan 06, 2007 02:13am

A play similar to this seems to happen to me every night.

If the defender is making a legitimate attempt - in the official's judgement - to block the shot ... play on. If not, it's a T.

The next part to this is always if the ball is IN the cylinder. You could have BI or again ... nothing and play on.

Am I correct veteran oficials?

Adam Sat Jan 06, 2007 02:25am

How do you have BI? The backboard is not part of the basket. It's a T or nothing.

Johnny Ringo Sat Jan 06, 2007 02:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
A play similar to this seems to happen to me every night.

If the defender is making a legitimate attempt - in the official's judgement - to block the shot ... play on. If not, it's a T.

The next part to this is always if the ball is IN the cylinder. You could have BI or again ... nothing and play on.

Am I correct veteran oficials?

You are correct, I got confused and always seem to when discussing this type of play. If the ball is in the cylinder and the slapping of the backboard causes the try to miss. It is a Tech and the try is no good. No BI. Only BI if the player hits rim or net, correct?

Jurassic Referee Sat Jan 06, 2007 02:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
Only BI if the player hits rim or net, correct?

It's BI if a player from either team hits the rim/net while the ball is on or within the basket <b>or</b> if they touch the ball while it is in the cone over the basket.

GT is hitting the ball on the way down above the basket ring when the shot has a chance to go in. GT also applies after the ball leaves a FT shooter's hands while it is still outside the cylinder, but it also only applies to an <b>opponent</b> of the FT shooter.

rainmaker Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It's BI if a player from either team hits the rim/net while the ball is on or within the basket <b>or</b> if they touch the ball while it is in the cone over the basket.

Is that the cone of verticality?

TimTaylor Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Is that the cone of verticality?

You're up early this morning Juulie.....

Personally I like "the cone of silence" (from an old TV sitcom)

Jurassic Referee Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor
You're up early this morning Juulie.....

Personally I like "the cone of silence" (from an old TV sitcom)

When it comes to wimmen, so do I......

BktBallRef Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
If the ball is in the cylinder and the slapping of the backboard causes the try to miss. It is a Tech and the try is no good.

Got a rule reference on that one? http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...es/redflag.gif

refnrev Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:32am

Good responses. In the game I watched all three whistles remained silent. I've worked with these guys and watched them for years. These were three GOOD guys. I didn't get to talk to them after the game so I can only surmise that either they felt it was a bad but legitimate attempt to block or that the slap, which wasn't very hard didntt shake the basket or have an impact upon the shot. My instinct tells me #1.

Adam Sat Jan 06, 2007 01:06pm

The impact on the shot shouldn't matter, by rule. If the slap is a legimate attempt at a block, it's not a tech no matter what the shot does. If the shot is not a legitimate block attempt, it is a tech no matter what the shot does.

Mark Dexter Sat Jan 06, 2007 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It's BI if a player from either team hits the rim/net while the ball is on or within the basket <b>or</b> if they touch the ball while it is in the cone over the basket.

A cone needs to come to a point, so I don't think it applies to the BI rule. - Mr. Annoying Geometry Guy.

Jurassic Referee Sat Jan 06, 2007 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
A cone needs to come to a point, so I don't think it applies to the BI rule. - Mr. Annoying Geometry Guy.

Oh.....

I get the concept now.

A cylinder is like Dilbert's head.

A cone is like your head.

Thanks for clearing that up, Mr. Dexter. I just nominated you for Teacher of the Year.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1