The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by d1ref2b
Came a cross an interesting sitution during a rules discussion with a fellow HS official. I was applying NCAA rules and he pointed out that NFHS is different in this case. The question is, When and how is the offensive team penalized when the defensive team commits a violation?
OK. Here is exactly how I worded it to the FHSAA and NFHS. Sorry it is rather wordy. But when dealing with the FHSAA it pays to be thorough as they are not exactly rules people.

I believe there is contradiction between rules 4.42 art. 5, Rule 9-4, and Rule 6-4 art. 5. (NFHS) I think that this conflict can be resolved with a simple modification of rule 4.42, art. 5.



NFHS Rule 4.42 art 5 states that, “the throw in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, another player who is either in bounds or out of bounds.” Rule 9-4 states that a player shall not intentionally kick the ball as in Rule 4-29. Rule 6-4, art. 5 states that the opportunity to make an AP throw in is lost if the throw in team violates, but does not lose the AP arrow if either team fouls. The key word in Rule 4-42, art. 5 is “touches”. Even though an intentional kick is considered illegal (and a violation), it is still touched when kicked and the team making the AP throw in would lose the arrow because of the “illegal” touch by the defensive team.



I think that rule 4.42 art. 5 needs to be amended and the phrase, “legally touched”, should be added to the rule. Below I have provided a scenario describing the rule as written and the same play with the rule changed. No case book play could be found pertaining to this play.



Applied as currently written:

Team A is awarded a throw in as a result of an AP situation. The throw in is made by Team A, but is intentionally kicked by Team B. Rule 9-4 defines a kick as a violation, if intentional, but a kick is still a touch. Therefore, Team A is now awarded a second throw in because of the kicked ball violation by Team B, and Team A subsequently loses the AP arrow because Team B committed a violation by kicking the throw in, but they touched the ball as required by Rule 4.42 art. 5., therefore ending the throw in and having the AP arrow switched to the direction of Team B. Ultimately, Team B committed a violation and was rewarded for that. Under no other situations is a team rewarded because they committed a violation of any kind.



Applied as revised:

Team A is awarded a throw in as a result of an AP situation. The throw in is made by Team A, but is intentionally kicked by Team B. Because the ball was not “legally” touched by a player that was inbounds or out of bounds, the AP throw in did not end. Team A would then be awarded a throw in as a result of the kicking violation by Team B, and would not lose the arrow since they did not commit a violation, as references in Rule 6-4, art 5. The AP arrow will stay pointed towards Team A’s basket, giving Team A the opportunity to make the next AP throw in.

Not only does this change remove any contradiction among the three rules referenced, but also creates consistency between the NFHS rules and the NCAA rules.

This happened last year in the womens NCAA tourney. UT v UNC.

Thanks for all of the input
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by d1ref2b
OK. Here is exactly how I worded it to the FHSAA and NFHS. Sorry it is rather wordy. But when dealing with the FHSAA it pays to be thorough as they are not exactly rules people.

I believe there is contradiction between rules 4.42 art. 5, Rule 9-4, and Rule 6-4 art. 5. (NFHS) I think that this conflict can be resolved with a simple modification of rule 4.42, art. 5.



NFHS Rule 4.42 art 5 states that, “the throw in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, another player who is either in bounds or out of bounds.” Rule 9-4 states that a player shall not intentionally kick the ball as in Rule 4-29. Rule 6-4, art. 5 states that the opportunity to make an AP throw in is lost if the throw in team violates, but does not lose the AP arrow if either team fouls. The key word in Rule 4-42, art. 5 is “touches”. Even though an intentional kick is considered illegal (and a violation), it is still touched when kicked and the team making the AP throw in would lose the arrow because of the “illegal” touch by the defensive team.



I think that rule 4.42 art. 5 needs to be amended and the phrase, “legally touched”, should be added to the rule. Below I have provided a scenario describing the rule as written and the same play with the rule changed. No case book play could be found pertaining to this play.



Applied as currently written:

Team A is awarded a throw in as a result of an AP situation. The throw in is made by Team A, but is intentionally kicked by Team B. Rule 9-4 defines a kick as a violation, if intentional, but a kick is still a touch. Therefore, Team A is now awarded a second throw in because of the kicked ball violation by Team B, and Team A subsequently loses the AP arrow because Team B committed a violation by kicking the throw in, but they touched the ball as required by Rule 4.42 art. 5., therefore ending the throw in and having the AP arrow switched to the direction of Team B. Ultimately, Team B committed a violation and was rewarded for that. Under no other situations is a team rewarded because they committed a violation of any kind.



Applied as revised:

Team A is awarded a throw in as a result of an AP situation. The throw in is made by Team A, but is intentionally kicked by Team B. Because the ball was not “legally” touched by a player that was inbounds or out of bounds, the AP throw in did not end. Team A would then be awarded a throw in as a result of the kicking violation by Team B, and would not lose the arrow since they did not commit a violation, as references in Rule 6-4, art 5. The AP arrow will stay pointed towards Team A’s basket, giving Team A the opportunity to make the next AP throw in.

Not only does this change remove any contradiction among the three rules referenced, but also creates consistency between the NFHS rules and the NCAA rules.

This happened last year in the womens NCAA tourney. UT v UNC.

Thanks for all of the input

We already discussed the heck out of this sitch. Some one find the link...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
My apologies then. Would have thought someone would have gotten it correct then or at least contacted the NFHS to fix the rule as written.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
so you are saying that A will now have the opportunity to complete the throw in, and retain the arrow????? or would you have them switch the arrow after the "legally" completed throw in
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmathews
so you are saying that A will now have the opportunity to complete the throw in, and retain the arrow????? or would you have them switch the arrow after the "legally" completed throw in
As currently written Team A would lose the arrow because Team B touched the ball, albeit by kicking it.

I want the rule to be revised that the throw in ends when the ball is LEGALLY touched. Now it states that the throw in ends when the ball is touched. So if Team A is making an AP throw in and Team B kicks the initial throw, Team A now has a throw in for the violation and retains the arrow. A team can not lose the arrow unless that team violates. This is how the rule is administered in the NCAA.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by d1ref2b
As currently written Team A would lose the arrow because Team B touched the ball, albeit by kicking it.

I want the rule to be revised that the throw in ends when the ball is LEGALLY touched. Now it states that the throw in ends when the ball is touched. So if Team A is making an AP throw in and Team B kicks the initial throw, Team A now has a throw in for the violation and retains the arrow. A team can not lose the arrow unless that team violates. This is how the rule is administered in the NCAA.
so you are in essence saying that A will get the throw in because of the kicked ball now. When that throw in is completed, they also will keep the arrow?
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmathews
so you are in essence saying that A will get the throw in because of the kicked ball now. When that throw in is completed, they also will keep the arrow?
Yes. They are now making a throw in for the kicking violation. Since the AP throw in was not "legally" touched on the court it never ended. Team A retains the arrow for the next AP throw in
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by d1ref2b
My apologies then. Would have thought someone would have gotten it correct then or at least contacted the NFHS to fix the rule as written.
I don't see a need to fix anything. Why should A benefit because they have a lousy player who can not inbound the ball so his own player is 1st to touch or posess the ball?

The rule isn't broken so no need to fix.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl H. Long
I don't see a need to fix anything. Why should A benefit because they have a lousy player who can not inbound the ball so his own player is 1st to touch or posess the ball?

The rule isn't broken so no need to fix.
d12b, see what I mean?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
d12b, see what I mean?
Unfortunately no. It is beyond having a bad player. Rules are NOT consistent on this point in NFHS.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl H. Long
I don't see a need to fix anything. Why should A benefit because they have a lousy player who can not inbound the ball so his own player is 1st to touch or posess the ball?

The rule isn't broken so no need to fix.
It is broken. A kick is not a legal touch. If it was we wouldn't have a violation for intentionally kicking the ball. Kicking is a violation. Again, throw in team can not lose the arrow unless they violate. The set of rules governing this situation are contradictory.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 05:14pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
We already discussed the heck out of this sitch. Some one find the link...
Throw-in ends

See posts 4 through 8-ish.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:07pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
A is not entitled to a successful throwin from the arrow, only the opportunity. I think the rule should be amended to change the arrow once the ball is at the disposal of the thrower. As it is, the offense is not penalized. They already got the ball due to the arrow, are you suggesting that the defense should be penalized more for kicking the ball during an AP throwin than they are during a normal throwin?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
A is not entitled to a successful throwin from the arrow, only the opportunity. I think the rule should be amended to change the arrow once the ball is at the disposal of the thrower. As it is, the offense is not penalized. They already got the ball due to the arrow, are you suggesting that the defense should be penalized more for kicking the ball during an AP throwin than they are during a normal throwin?
No, the defense is penalized for committing a kicked ball violation as would be in the NCAA. Team A now gets a throw in for the kicking violation. I just am seeking comsistency between the 2 sets of rules. Team A can not lose the arrow unless they violate. Why should they lose the arrow if team B violates (kicks the ball).
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2007, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by d1ref2b
No, the defense is penalized for committing a kicked ball violation as would be in the NCAA. Team A now gets a throw in for the kicking violation. I just am seeking comsistency between the 2 sets of rules. Team A can not lose the arrow unless they violate. Why should they lose the arrow if team B violates (kicks the ball).
It depends on your definition of completing a throw-in. I agree with you d1ref2b (I like that moniker, btw). but others feel that when B touches the ball whether legally or illegally, the throw-in is completed and the arrow given up. whether it is a kick or a hand touch is irrelevant in these people's eyes. That's not my opinion, btw, I'm just expressing what I"ve heard before.

And in their argurement you should also note that if B touches it with their hand, and swats it oob, they've violated by causing the ball to go out of bounds. So in that case, A loses the arrow on a B violation by your and my thinking. But that other thought process figures that the throw-in was complete when the ball was touched either legally or illegally, so A gives up the arrow.

Last edited by rainmaker; Fri Jan 05, 2007 at 04:16pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Offense Offsides BobGP383 Football 10 Sun Nov 12, 2006 09:02am
Did the offense give up their at bat? tskill Baseball 8 Sat Apr 15, 2006 10:31pm
What Gets Penalized Ed Hickland Football 3 Mon Oct 04, 2004 09:19am
Offense appeals BOO kchamp Softball 1 Tue Feb 13, 2001 10:31am
Offense Confererence DrC. Baseball 2 Fri Sep 29, 2000 02:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1