![]() |
|
|
|||
so you are saying that A will now have the opportunity to complete the throw in, and retain the arrow????? or would you have them switch the arrow after the "legally" completed throw in
|
|
|||
Quote:
I want the rule to be revised that the throw in ends when the ball is LEGALLY touched. Now it states that the throw in ends when the ball is touched. So if Team A is making an AP throw in and Team B kicks the initial throw, Team A now has a throw in for the violation and retains the arrow. A team can not lose the arrow unless that team violates. This is how the rule is administered in the NCAA. |
|
|||
Quote:
The rule isn't broken so no need to fix. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
See posts 4 through 8-ish. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
And in their argurement you should also note that if B touches it with their hand, and swats it oob, they've violated by causing the ball to go out of bounds. So in that case, A loses the arrow on a B violation by your and my thinking. But that other thought process figures that the throw-in was complete when the ball was touched either legally or illegally, so A gives up the arrow. Last edited by rainmaker; Fri Jan 05, 2007 at 04:16pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
But I think your revision should read: ...Team A would then be awarded a throw in as a result of the kicking violation by Team B, and would not lose the arrow since they did not commit a violation, as references in Rule 6-4, art 5. The resulting throw-in would still be considered an AP throw-in and the arrow will change when this throw-in ends.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Your logic is faulty from the git-go. What you are suggesting actually penalizes the defensive team twice for one violation. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Fri Jan 05, 2007 at 04:58pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
||||
My opinion, the purpose of the arrow is to give A the throwin; not the possession. Once the throwin starts, the arrow has served its purpose. If B1kicks the ball during a normal throwin, A just gets the ball. If B1 kicks the ball during an AP throwin, you're suggesting they lose the next arrow and the ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Offense Offsides | BobGP383 | Football | 10 | Sun Nov 12, 2006 09:02am |
Did the offense give up their at bat? | tskill | Baseball | 8 | Sat Apr 15, 2006 10:31pm |
What Gets Penalized | Ed Hickland | Football | 3 | Mon Oct 04, 2004 09:19am |
Offense appeals BOO | kchamp | Softball | 1 | Tue Feb 13, 2001 10:31am |
Offense Confererence | DrC. | Baseball | 2 | Fri Sep 29, 2000 02:47pm |