The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 10:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Looks to me like she lost control, thus an interrupted dribble. Perfectly legal. The only way you could rule the ball OOB when not touching a player who has OOB status is if you deem the player in continuous control of the dribble. An interrupted dribble does not meet this requirement.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
I can't exactly recall the why they said this. Something to do with A1 can't be the first to touch the ball once they went OOB. I thought this was wrong but after five officals said this is a violation and kept quiet until i saw the play tonight with the shot and the player going OOB and then returning inbounds to touch or get the rebound and nobody touching it since A1.

Now, another example.

A1 is dribbling near the sideline where they accidently run into A2 the ball continues to bounce inbounds while A1 goes OOB with both feet. A1 then returns inbounds with one or two feet and continues dribble or picks up the ball. A1 was the only player to touch ball during this sequence. I assume this is a legal play?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 11:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
I can't exactly recall the why they said this. Something to do with A1 can't be the first to touch the ball once they went OOB. I thought this was wrong but after five officals said this is a violation and kept quiet until i saw the play tonight with the shot and the player going OOB and then returning inbounds to touch or get the rebound and nobody touching it since A1.

Now, another example.

A1 is dribbling near the sideline where they accidently run into A2 the ball continues to bounce inbounds while A1 goes OOB with both feet. A1 then returns inbounds with one or two feet and continues dribble or picks up the ball. A1 was the only player to touch ball during this sequence. I assume this is a legal play?
Apply the principle stated before, a player has the same position where his/her feet last touched. Legal.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
The five officials are wrong. See the case plays under 7.1. All of these are legal plays. There is no rule that forbids a player from being the first to touch the ball after being OOB, as long as there's no player control while OOB.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 11:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Yup, again, it's a classic interrupted dribble during which there is no player control. The only way a player can commit an OOB violation without either the ball going OOB or touching the ball while standing OOB is to be in continuous control of a dribble while stepping OOB (even if the player doesn't actually touch the ball and OOB at the same time). I'm going to stop now that I'm starting to get redundant.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 11:38pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
Now, another example.
A1 is dribbling near the sideline where they accidently run into A2 the ball continues to bounce inbounds while A1 goes OOB with both feet. A1 then returns inbounds with one or two feet and continues dribble or picks up the ball. A1 was the only player to touch ball during this sequence. I assume this is a legal play?
Snaq's original post is still the appropriate answer. Still legal. No player control, so it doesn't violate (the pertinent rule) 9-3-Note:

9-3-Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.

Refer also to the following:
4-15-5 An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble.

4-15-6-d During an interrupted dribble: Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2007, 12:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
This helps and why this board is such an assest. A lot of people who are good officials have gotten this wrong.

There is no rule on last to touch and first to touch in NFHS basketball, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2007, 12:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
This helps and why this board is such an assest. A lot of people who are good officials have gotten this wrong.

There is no rule on last to touch and first to touch in NFHS basketball, correct?
Finally, at long last, yes! Correct! Although it's an all-too-common misconception.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2007, 12:35am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I've seen good officials make this call. It's one of those cases where the protest rule would come in handy over time.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2007, 01:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I've seen good officials make this call. It's one of those cases where the protest rule would come in handy over time.
But too many officials get it wrong becasue they don't know the rule...so, what good would a protest be? It might even lead to a T when the official hears the protest and refuses to budge.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2007, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 155
What about a situation such as this:

A1, on a fast break, throws an across court, down court pass to A2 who is about mid-court. A2 has to run toward the side line to make the catch otherwise the ball will go OOB. A2 jumps to make the catch. Instead of catching the ball, the ball deflects off of her hands. The ball lands inbounds and starts rolling toward A's basket. A2 returns to the floor with both feet inbounds and then her momentum carries her OOB. Instead of doing an immediate 180 and returning to the court, A2 runs down the sideline for approximately 10 feet, enters the court with both feet and recovers the ball. A2 is the only player from either team anywhere near the ball.

1. Am I correct that since A2 did not immediately return to the court after running OOB it is a violation when she returns onto the court, whether or not she touches the ball?

2. Is there any relevance to the fact that when A2 was running OOB she was the only player around and gained no advantage by being OOB? The fact that she was running along the sideline OOB is sufficient?

3. If #1 is correct, is the POI the location where A2 ran OOB or the location where she returned to the court?

Thanks in advance for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2007, 06:00pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaellis
A2 returns to the floor with both feet inbounds and then her momentum carries her OOB.
Her momentum going out of bounds may be parallel to or at right angles or at any angle to the OOB line that she went out on. When the motion caused by her momentum stops, she's supposed to return back in-bounds from that spot by the shortest route available. If she doesn't, as in continuing on up the OOB line, then it's a technical foul under NFHS rule 10-3-4 for delaying her return after being legally out of bounds. Judgment call. It's never a violation if a player's momentum carries them OOB after a shot, saving a ball, etc. They're legally OOB in those cases.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Jan 03, 2007 at 06:03pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2007, 06:14pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaellis
What about a situation such as this:

A1, on a fast break, throws an across court, down court pass to A2 who is about mid-court. A2 has to run toward the side line to make the catch otherwise the ball will go OOB. A2 jumps to make the catch. Instead of catching the ball, the ball deflects off of her hands. The ball lands inbounds and starts rolling toward A's basket. A2 returns to the floor with both feet inbounds and then her momentum carries her OOB. Instead of doing an immediate 180 and returning to the court, A2 runs down the sideline for approximately 10 feet, enters the court with both feet and recovers the ball. A2 is the only player from either team anywhere near the ball.

1. Am I correct that since A2 did not immediately return to the court after running OOB it is a violation when she returns onto the court, whether or not she touches the ball?

2. Is there any relevance to the fact that when A2 was running OOB she was the only player around and gained no advantage by being OOB? The fact that she was running along the sideline OOB is sufficient?

3. If #1 is correct, is the POI the location where A2 ran OOB or the location where she returned to the court?

Thanks in advance for the help!
Ditto what Jurassic said, and -
1. No, it's technically a foul - a techincal foul.
2. If, in the judgement of the covering official, she delayed in returning, then no, it doesn't matter.
3. Technical foul penalty (2 shots for B and ball at the division line for throw-in), not POI, is enforced here, as Jurassic said.

Also reference Sit. 10.3.3.A.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Geez if I had a dime for everytime a parent, fan, or coach screams for OOB on this exact play, I might have some pretty good chump change!

LEGAL PLAY as stated earlier
__________________
16 yr HS official
8 yr NCAA
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2007, 01:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo
This helps and why this board is such an assest. A lot of people who are good officials have gotten this wrong.

There is no rule on last to touch and first to touch in NFHS basketball, correct?
Johnny, you're right in what you're trying to say, but I think your wording should be re-worked. There is a "last to touch, first to touch" rule in NFHS, but it doesn't have anything to do with the oob situation. Also, none of your plays included the aspect of continuous player control, but that is an issue on some oob calls. Just be careful how you talk to your compatriots about this issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First to touch ripcord51 Basketball 6 Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm
First to touch RefTip Basketball 12 Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:26am
Can't be the first one to touch it? dub3 Basketball 18 Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:14am
OB and then touch ball Buck Wu Basketball 5 Tue Sep 25, 2001 07:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1