![]() |
|
|
|||
First to touch on shot?
A1 attempts a try on a fast break. The ball hits high on the glass. A1's momentum carrys her OOB and she quickly comes back in bounds and is the first to touch the ball. Both feet were back inbounds when she touched. Legal or not?
|
|
|||
This is not the football and it especially is not the NFL.
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots. |
|
|||
Another example and this happened in a varsity girls game and was discussed after the game with the crew and later I phoned a Div. I official.
A1 recieves the inbound pass from A2 after a made basket by Team B. A1 begins to dribble and trips over her own feet and stumbles out of bounds. The ball remains inbounds. There is no pressure from the defense (all five players are on the other end of the court). A2 is running from backcourt and doe snot see this. There is no one else even close to the play. A1 collects herself returns from OOB to inbounds where she continues the dribble. Legal? Same principle as the other example. This play was allowed originally, but after all officials were in agreement that it should have been called a violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots. |
|
|||
I can't exactly recall the why they said this. Something to do with A1 can't be the first to touch the ball once they went OOB. I thought this was wrong but after five officals said this is a violation and kept quiet until i saw the play tonight with the shot and the player going OOB and then returning inbounds to touch or get the rebound and nobody touching it since A1.
Now, another example. A1 is dribbling near the sideline where they accidently run into A2 the ball continues to bounce inbounds while A1 goes OOB with both feet. A1 then returns inbounds with one or two feet and continues dribble or picks up the ball. A1 was the only player to touch ball during this sequence. I assume this is a legal play? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Well, it is no wonder why she slipped, that stuff is really slippery!!! ![]()
__________________
Who needs the instruction book, let's just put it together. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Could have been worse. Could have been buck shot, er, I mean buck snot. ![]() Actually, I went past the howler monkey cage and saw quite a few coaches in there.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Here is the text of the NCAA rule: RULE 9, Section 4. Player Out of Bounds Art. 1. A player who steps out of bounds under his/her own volition and then becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court has committed a violation. a. A violation has not been committed when a player, who steps out of bounds as permitted by Rule 7-5.8.a, does not receive the pass along the endline by a teammate and is the first to touch the ball after his or her return to the playing court. A.R. 181. Team A sets a double screen for A1, who, in attempting to come across the free-throw lane, is legally obstructed by offensive and defensive players so that A1 leaves the playing court under the basket, circles around, returns to the playing court and then is the first to receive the ball. RULING: A violation has been committed by A1 for leaving the playing court and then becoming the first player to touch the ball upon return. However, the NCAA also has this ruling that is basically the same as the NFHS rule: A.R. 143. A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the floor inbounds but A1, who is off balance, falls outside the end line. A1 returns, secures control of the ball, and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 has not left the playing court voluntarily and was not in control of the ball when leaving the playing court. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and momentum carries A1 off the playing court. The try is unsuccessful, and A1 comes onto the playing court and regains control of the ball. Therefore, when you are speaking to an NCAA official, know that there is in fact such a rule, but that it must be understood correctly. In short, the NCAA rule is not intended to penalize players for going OOB as part of making a play (saving a ball or following a shot) or when they lose their balance and fall. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Just in case anyone references NCAA, This could be a violation. Provided the player goes out of bounds under his/her own volition and is then the first to touch the ball. My rules interpreter says to look for deception as well.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
First to touch | ripcord51 | Basketball | 6 | Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm |
First to touch | RefTip | Basketball | 12 | Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:26am |
Can't be the first one to touch it? | dub3 | Basketball | 18 | Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:14am |
OB and then touch ball | Buck Wu | Basketball | 5 | Tue Sep 25, 2001 07:25pm |