The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Thought provoking back court question.

During the first quarter A1 dribbles the ball across the division line and into the frontcourt. A1 then attempts an "alley-oop" pass to A2, near the basket. The ball strikes the ring untouched and ricochets directly into the backcourt. A1 hustles into the backcourt and is the first person to touch the ball after it went into the backcourt. The covering official rules a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

This is another interesting question from the Catawba River Basketball Officials Association in South Carolina.

I will post the answer and reason later today.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 09:38am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I'm not calling this, but I can see how the official might since he didn't consider the pass to be a try. I'm calling it a try and therefore ruling this play legal.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 09:49am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Let me guess......

Catawba is gonna say that it's not a "try" by rule, and team control was thus never lost. Iow, yes, it's gonna be a backcourt violation.

For the record, as far as I'm concerned, if the ball hits the rim, it's a try imo. Ergo, loss of team control and NO backcourt violation. Raison d'Etre?---I ain't a mind reader. And neither is any other official anywhere either as far as I'm concerned.

It's strictly a judgement call as to whether it was a pass or a try. I don't know how Catawba can give out a supposedly definitive ruling on a judgment call, no matter how they rule.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Jan 02, 2007 at 09:52am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 09:53am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
For the record, as far as I'm concerned, if the ball hits the rim, it's a try imo.
Especially since if it goes in, instead of bouncing off the rim, we're going to give 3 points.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Especially since if it goes in, instead of bouncing off the rim, we're going to give 3 points.

Scrapper, good point here.
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 10:01am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Especially since if it goes in, instead of bouncing off the rim, we're going to give 3 points.
Is that really relevant as to whether we call it a "try" or not?

Casae book play 5.2.1SitB says "A ball that is thrown into a team's own goal from behind the three-point arc scores three points, regardless of whether the thrown ball was a try or not".

In this case, you got 2 options:
1) If it's a try---> no backcourt violation.
2) If it's not a try ----> backcourt violation.

And....whatever option you pick is based on the calling official's judgement solely. If the ball hits the ring, it's a "try" as far as I'm concerned. I'd have to be a mindreader to rule otherwise, and I don't profess to be that good.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Let me think

"No, coach, despite the fact that it was launched toward the basket and hit the rim, I don't think it was a try. I have to go with the violation!" Pretty hard sell to me. NO call.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 10:09am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Is that really relevant as to whether we call it a "try" or not?
No more relevant than if it simply hits the rim. . . Didn't you recently say:

Quote:
For the record, as far as I'm concerned, if the ball hits the rim, it's a try imo.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 10:42am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
No more relevant than if it simply hits the rim. . . Didn't you recently say:

Yup, sure did. That's because I'm deeming it a try, not being Carnac the Magnificent.

But....whether we give it it 3 if it goes or not isn't dependant on it being a "try" though. Iow, the "try" aspect just ain't relevant when it's used to determine whether a "3" was scored or not, but it is is relevant when it comes to determining whether a back court violation occurs or not. See what I'm getting at? Completely different. Apples and oranges. Yankees and BoSox.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Especially since if it goes in, instead of bouncing off the rim, we're going to give 3 points.
Points can be scored without a try so that adds nothing to the discussion.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Reply to back court question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTRICE
During the first quarter A1 dribbles the ball across the division line and into the frontcourt. A1 then attempts an "alley-oop" pass to A2, near the basket. The ball strikes the ring untouched and ricochets directly into the backcourt. A1 hustles into the backcourt and is the first person to touch the ball after it went into the backcourt. The covering official rules a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

This is another interesting question from the Catawba River Basketball Officials Association in South Carolina.

I will post the answer and reason later today.
The answer as posted on the Catawba River Basketball Officials Association board:

Answer: The official was correct. Although the situation would have resulted in a three point goal if the ball had passed through the goal, this would have been under the rule (5.2.1) regarding "a thrown ball from the field by a player from behind the team's own 19 foot, 9 inch arc." Since the official ruled the thrown ball to be a pass, by rule (4.12.4) team control did not end. Therefore, Team A, who had control, was the last to touch the ball before it went backcourt and the first to touch after it went backcourt. By rule (Rule 9.9.1) this is a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 12:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Not in my game, it's not. I'm ruling this a try. Sorry, Catawba.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Not in my game, it's not. I'm ruling this a try. Sorry, Catawba.
I agree completely. We're not mind readers, and as JR, Bob & others have pointed out, there's plenty of case play to support a no call.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 12:36pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTaylor
We're not mind readers.
That's the bottom line imo. You can't give a completely definitive answer to what is basically a judgement call right from the git-go. Unfortunately, Catawba is trying to do just that.

An analogy would be to look at a play and say "There was contact on that play. It must be a foul". The correct answer however is that there was contact on the play, but it's only a foul if the contact was judged as not being incidental. And that's up to the calling official solely, no one else.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
JR it doesn't seem that you have a problem with the ruling given, but rather have a big problem with the Catawba people categorically stating that this action is not a try for goal. In other words they are removing a necessary element of judgment by the official as to whether this action was a pass or a try.

Oddly enough, you seem to being guilty of the same thing when you state "if the ball hits the rim, it's a try imo." I would rather see you not use that criterion, but judge each individual play on its own.

For example, consider the following play:
A1 drives the end line and reaches a position in the lane directly under the backboard when he ends his dribble. He spots teammate A2 open near the top of the key, so he jumps and throws the ball in that direction. The ball strikes the underside of the front of the ring and due to the change in direction sails past A2 and into the backcourt. A2 is then the first player to touch the ball.

Surely you would deem this play a backcourt violation, right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Back Court Question FishinRef Basketball 24 Tue Dec 05, 2006 08:30pm
Another back court question dsturdy5 Basketball 13 Mon Jun 06, 2005 09:10am
Another back court question Jay R Basketball 11 Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:25pm
another back court question walter Basketball 44 Fri Jun 30, 2000 08:57am
Another back court question BSL Basketball 10 Mon Dec 06, 1999 03:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1