The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Dec 24, 2006, 08:22am
Official Forum Member

The Perfect Game

I love basketball.

This is my first year as a registered official. I know that I have many mistakes in my future if I am ever to achieve my goals of becoming a good official.

So far, I have had both good games and bad games.

If you were granted one wish and you wished for the perfect game, how would you describe it?

Would it be perfect sportsmanship by both players and coaches?, A close contest that does or doesn't go into overtime?, Every call and mechanic right?, A great partner?, A State Championship?, Fastest game with the biggest paycheck?

How would you describe your perfect game?
Old Sun Dec 24, 2006, 09:01am
Courageous When Prudent

A game 5 minutes from my house and one team doesn't show up so the game is declared a forfeit but I still get paid.
Old Sun Dec 24, 2006, 09:37am
Official Forum Member

My partner[s] and I are both alert and atune to the details of the game, enjoying especially good communications among the crew - and who cares what the fans/coaches/players say or think... when the game is over, the teams walk away talking about their performance and the crew walks away satisfied with our performance. Next game is a new game.

I'm glad you are enjoying your first year - you should enjoy next year even more if you accept criticism from other officials and always work to improve your performance. This is only my third year but improvement in my own performance and increased knowledge of the game [factors which are inextricably linked] from year-to-year are what I expect to be key ingredients towards continuing to enjoy the current year more than the previous year.
Old Sun Dec 24, 2006, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member

Perfect game for me?

- School game: Coaches coach their players and otherwise shut the #&@! up.