![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I would tend to agree with NR. Your count and arm swings should always be coordinated. If you start your arm swing late, then you start your count late. Coaches, the good ones anyway, are looking at you and talking to their players. If you are counting in your head, but do not give a VISIBLE count as well, you put the team and that player at a disadvantage. And yes, I understand that by starting your count late that you put the other team at disadvantage as well, but I would rather have a visible advantage for a team than an invisible disadvantage. (does that make sense?)
As for having a lot of other things to do . . . well, every official on the floor has a lot of stuff to do and a lot of things to worry about. That is why we learn to "multi-task." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Another example: Shot clock reads 23 and my hand count is 9, or shot clock reads 27 and my hand count is 10. Am I not going to call a violation because my count doesn't match the shot clock? In as much as possible I agree that the arm count should match the invisible count, but it is not an absolute. Hopefully, this type of thing won't determine the outcome of a game, if called, but continued mismatch of arm and invisible count, could show some inconsistency in officiating mechanics. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As for the shot clock (or game clock), if your count is FAST, adjust the speed of your count from that point forward to accomodate the discrepancy. EVERY evaluator and assignor I have ever had has told me, it is always a good idea to be "a little" slow on your counts. It you start a count "a little" late, then you are already slow, and continue from there. JMO Last edited by bigdogrunnin; Wed Dec 27, 2006 at 04:47pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, I will also admit that I have never heard of a review of a 5 second call, or an evaluator looking at a tape to determine if it was a correct 5 second call violation based on the referee arm strokes. Never heard of that and I've never heard of a game coming down to a backcourt or 5 second throw in call violation. If the coach is worried about the fact the referee only showed 4 strokes of the arm and called a 5 second violation, he/she should probably be officiating and not coaching, and guaranteed, this coach is going to get out coached. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Tennessee/LSU | Kirby | Football | 6 | Sat Nov 04, 2006 11:37pm |
| Tennessee vs. Michigan | Mountaineer | Softball | 30 | Thu Jun 01, 2006 07:39am |
| Texas vs Texas Tech Play | carldog | Basketball | 7 | Tue Jan 27, 2004 04:56pm |
| Texas/Texas Tech officials | johnSandlin | Basketball | 4 | Wed Jan 16, 2002 01:05am |
| A changed call at Texas | Carl Childress | Baseball | 71 | Tue Feb 27, 2001 01:23am |