The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member

Time out positions - two man crew

Please verify the correct mechanic for a (two-man crew) time out.I am an IAABO referee.

In a two-man crew, the administering official stays at the throw-in spot and the other official stands on the division (half-court line) either close to the opposite side of the court (full/60) or close to the table (30).
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 10:21pm
Official Forum Member

NFHS Official's Manual:

For 30-sec, each official goes to top of each key
For full, each official goes to the block opposite the benches.

For two man crews, no official stands at the throw in spot.
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member

Larry - for IAABO mechanics, you're right. The non-inbounds spot official should be right at the edge of the center restraining circle, either close to the table or close to the opposite side of the court.
Old Fri Dec 22, 2006, 10:48pm
Official Forum Member

This is a mechanics difference between IAABO and NFHS. Chuck made me aware of this a few years ago. Just FYI.
Old Sat Dec 23, 2006, 12:26am
Keeper of the HAMMER

Really? Here, we apparently do the NFHS version, even though we're IAABO. Since I'm still feeling my way around, I've just watched to see how things are done. I didn't realize there was a difference between IAABO and NFHS on this.
Old Sat Dec 23, 2006, 09:45am
Get away from me, Steve.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Really? Here, we apparently do the NFHS version, even though we're IAABO. Since I'm still feeling my way around, I've just watched to see how things are done. I didn't realize there was a difference between IAABO and NFHS on this.
I think IAABO has it right, BTW. This is the old NFHS mechanic, if I remember correctly.