The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 05:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckrefguy
NCAA Rules:

A1 throws in from the baseline in Team A's frontcourt to A2. A2 reaches for it and tries to gather it in with one hand, but fumbles. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt and rolls into the backcourt. A2 runs back and picks up the ball.

Do you have a whistle?
Due to your specific wording, yes. In order to fumble the player must first have control of the ball, so you have told me that A1 caught the ball with one hand. You also told me that the ball struck the floor in the frontcourt, so I know that there is player and team control inbounds in the frontcourt.

Now if you had written, "but muffs," then the answer would be no violation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt Violation USC04alum Basketball 5 Thu Feb 09, 2006 01:37pm
backcourt violation discodaddy61 Basketball 5 Tue Dec 20, 2005 11:28am
Backcourt violation? vawils Basketball 4 Mon Dec 12, 2005 09:23am
backcourt violation? roadking Basketball 9 Tue Dec 28, 2004 03:09pm
Backcourt violation??? jshock Basketball 10 Wed Nov 27, 2002 01:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1