The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30171-backcourt-violation.html)

canuckrefguy Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:49pm

Backcourt violation?
 
NCAA Rules:

A1 throws in from the baseline in Team A's frontcourt to A2. A2 reaches for it and tries to gather it in with one hand, but fumbles. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt and rolls into the backcourt. A2 runs back and picks up the ball.

Do you have a whistle?

Nevadaref Thu Dec 14, 2006 05:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy
NCAA Rules:

A1 throws in from the baseline in Team A's frontcourt to A2. A2 reaches for it and tries to gather it in with one hand, but fumbles. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt and rolls into the backcourt. A2 runs back and picks up the ball.

Do you have a whistle?

Due to your specific wording, yes. In order to fumble the player must first have control of the ball, so you have told me that A1 caught the ball with one hand. You also told me that the ball struck the floor in the frontcourt, so I know that there is player and team control inbounds in the frontcourt.

Now if you had written, "but muffs," then the answer would be no violation.

GoodwillRef Thu Dec 14, 2006 06:47am

He said he tried to gather with one hand not that he caught it with one hand. You have to have control to fumble? Fumble/Dribble/Fumble?? I would say this is not a backcourt violation.

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 14, 2006 08:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef
He said he tried to gather with one hand not that he caught it with one hand. <font color = red>You have to have control to fumble?</font> Fumble/Dribble/Fumble?? I would say this is not a backcourt violation.

According to the language of NCAA rule 4-29-1 or NFHS rule 4-21 defining a "fumble", you have to have player control before you can fumble. Nevada was right iow if there actually was a fumble. It may just have been the wrong choice of words in the original post. The OP might have meant "tip" or "deflected the ball" instead of "fumbles". Canuckref will have to enlighten us.

BktBallRef Thu Dec 14, 2006 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy
NCAA Rules: Do you have a whistle?

Do you have team control?

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef
You have to have control to fumble?

Yes. Before a player can fumble the ball, he must have player control of it. I think he meant to describe a muff, not a fumble.

canuckrefguy Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Before a player can fumble the ball, he must have player control of it. I think he meant to describe a muff, not a fumble.

1. Correct.

2. My bad for using the word "fumble", forgot the book uses the word in a specific way, but....

3. Knowing the sense of humour of you lunkheads, I was extremely leery about using the word "muff" :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1