The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 01:38pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
What's your NFHS ruling, Nevada? Do you agree that this batting equates passing, which equates team control, which results in a violation?
Um...you may want to read NFHS case book play 4.12.6 Also see case book play 4.19.7SitC which states that there's no team control following a deflected ball during a throw-in.

You're wrong.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Dec 07, 2006 at 01:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 01:46pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um...you may want to read NFHS case book play 4.12.6

You're wrong.
I see what you're saying here Jurassic. I mentioned this case play earlier in the thread, but I wasn't thinking it applied to an intentional bat from a player to a teammate. I read the case play as A2 is trying to catch/deflecting the ball, not batting it to a teammate.

But since the case play doesn't specify what type of "touching" is going on, I guess I'll defer.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 01:50pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um...you may want to read NFHS case book play 4.12.6 Also see case book play 4.19.7SitC which states that there's no team control following a deflected ball during a throw-in.

You're wrong.
And to go off-track, doesn't the language of 4.12.6 and 4.19.7.D contradict each other? I remember a thread from not too long ago where Nevada and I think you and others were debating the whole "when does the throw-in end" deal, regarding to the throw-in being touched/deflected. 4.12.6 says the throw-in ended when the player touched the ball, but 4.19.7.D implies that even after the touch, the throw-in is still occuring during the foul that follows the touch.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 02:13pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Exclamation I've Got It!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um...you may want to read NFHS case book play 4.12.6 Also see case book play 4.19.7SitC which states that there's no team control following a deflected ball during a throw-in.

You're wrong.
To use my own logic, touching precedes batting, so the the two case book situations are completely applicable.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt Violation? New2AZref Basketball 14 Mon May 01, 2006 10:51pm
Backcourt violation? vawils Basketball 4 Mon Dec 12, 2005 09:23am
Backcourt Violation BroD Basketball 15 Mon Mar 15, 2004 10:51am
Backcourt violation? mrt1963 Basketball 7 Mon Dec 08, 2003 04:53pm
Backcourt Violation? Sleeper Basketball 10 Mon Dec 09, 2002 04:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1