![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
The part about players all returning to the court at approximately the same time is aimed at coaches who stall for more time by not sending their players all out at once. A player who never goes out at all until the next dead ball isn't the point here. |
|
|||
The coach was correct. This should have been a team technical foul.
10-1-9 A team shall not: . . . Fail to have all players return to the court at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission. PENALTY: (Section 1) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in. For a situation that is not after a time-out or intermission, such as a normal substitution process there is no rule that calls for a T if the player remains off the court. If the player returns during playing action then it is a T by 10.3.3SitB as JR cited. |
|
|||
Quote:
Calling a T in this case seems like overkill. I guess it's all a matter of objective interpretation. Kinda like calling that incidental foul on the arm. But we gotta follow the rules....right? ![]() |
|
|||
FWIW it's worth this used to be a T on the player who went and sat on the bench for leaving the floor for an unauthorized reason although it was rarely called that way, but that rule was changed to simply a violation last year and the NFHS commented that the violation was for leaving during play. Now there is no penalty in situations that do not follow a TO or intermission.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Resuming Play | Dbyb | Basketball | 3 | Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:09am |
Resuming Play Question... | JohnBark | Basketball | 14 | Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:14am |
Resuming Play Procedure | rainmaker | Basketball | 4 | Wed Aug 18, 2004 05:49am |
Resuming Play | BigJoe | Basketball | 9 | Tue Dec 16, 2003 08:29pm |
Resuming Play Procedure | devdog69 | Basketball | 21 | Tue Jan 08, 2002 08:05pm |