Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The coach was correct. This should have been a team technical foul.
10-1-9 A team shall not:
. . . Fail to have all players return to the court at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission.
PENALTY: (Section 1) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in.
For a situation that is not after a time-out or intermission, such as a normal substitution process there is no rule that calls for a T if the player remains off the court. If the player returns during playing action then it is a T by 10.3.3SitB as JR cited.
|
But according to the OP, they did have all five players return to the court at approximately the same time. It would seem that the purpose of the T is to penalize for the delay of game. In this case, they all go out and one returns to the bench in error. No one noticed and play goes on. No delay.
Calling a T in this case seems like overkill. I guess it's all a matter of objective interpretation. Kinda like calling that incidental foul on the arm.
But we gotta follow the rules....right?