The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
End of Game Technical Difficulties

Situation discussed at our association meeting that took place locally:

Closing seconds of a Division II game. Team A is up by one point. Team Bs final shot is rejected and a fast break ensues with A1 intentionally fouled by B1. Official blows the whistle and the crew is using the Precision Timing System. The whistle is followed by the buzzer (there is a definite separation between the whistle and buzzer, but almost instantaneous).

Team As bench comes onto the court, celebrating their win assuming the game is over, and a technical is called against a Team A player for comments directed at an official.

Team B shoots per the technical and makes both shots to go up by one. Team A shoots the two shots for the intentional, misses both. Now Team A is down by one.

Officials determine that 2/10s of a second will be put back on the clock. Team A misses the final tap attempt, game over.

Aside from the officials not penalizing Team A for coming onto the court, is there a specific rule/case for NCAA that addresses the end of game situation using PTS?

This could certainly happen in a HS game? What is the course of action?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by djskinn
Situation discussed at our association meeting that took place locally:

Closing seconds of a Division II game. Team A is up by one point. Team Bs final shot is rejected and a fast break ensues with A1 intentionally fouled by B1. Official blows the whistle and the crew is using the Precision Timing System. The whistle is followed by the buzzer (there is a definite separation between the whistle and buzzer, but almost instantaneous).

Team As bench comes onto the court, celebrating their win assuming the game is over, and a technical is called against a Team A player for comments directed at an official.

Team B shoots per the technical and makes both shots to go up by one. Team A shoots the two shots for the intentional, misses both. Now Team A is down by one.

Officials determine that 2/10s of a second will be put back on the clock. Team A misses the final tap attempt, game over.

Aside from the officials not penalizing Team A for coming onto the court, is there a specific rule/case for NCAA that addresses the end of game situation using PTS?

This could certainly happen in a HS game? What is the course of action?
Officials were correct to not T team A for coming on the court. Under ncaa rules a T is assessed only if the team interferes with play.

I do not believe PTS is addressed, follow existing rules.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,011
Quote:
Originally Posted by djskinn
This could certainly happen in a HS game? What is the course of action?
If the officials have definite knowledge of the time remaining, put it on the clock. Otherwise, the clock has expired. Shoot the fouls in the order they occurred (I, then T).

Net Result: Same as in the NCAA game (team B wins).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,438
The NCAA put out a memo on this following the FSU/DUKE game @FSU. I'm sure that someone will post it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
HS only

Looking at HS only. Tweak the game ending situation. Let's say Team A comes onto the court to celebrate, but no technical was called at all.

Does Team B coach not have an argument that the game is not over and technical has been committed?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 12:15pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by djskinn
Looking at HS only. Tweak the game ending situation. Let's say Team A comes onto the court to celebrate, but no technical was called at all.

Does Team B coach not have an argument that the game is not over and technical has been committed?
No. With Team A up by one and the intentional foul being called. With no time on the clock the free throws aren't shot because the game is over and they don't have an effect on the game. Game over.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 359
If the officials are still in the "visual confines of the playing area," and the result of EITHER or BOTH fouls can affect the outcome of the game, we shoot the free throws (i.e., even though the game is supposed to "over," when Team A's player directed comments toward the official, the technical foul is to be assessed.) Since the intentional foul took place first, we allow Player A1 to shoot the Intentional Foul shots, and any player from Team B to shoot the two Technical Foul shots. Now, if Player A1 makes BOTH free throws, then shooting the Technical Foul cannot change the outcome of the game, and Game Over (Team A is up by 3 at this point). If Player A1 misses one or both Free Throws, Team B Player shoots. Tie it, we go to overtime, and start with a Jump Ball. Win it or Lose it, we go home.

If the officials have definite knowledge of time being left on the clock, then time shall be placed back on the clock and the ball is to be inbounded by Team B at the Division Line.

SOMEONE, please correct me if this is wrong. (All per NFHS)

Last edited by bigdogrunnin; Tue Dec 05, 2006 at 02:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 12:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by djskinn
Looking at HS only. Tweak the game ending situation. Let's say Team A comes onto the court to celebrate, but no technical was called at all.

Does Team B coach not have an argument that the game is not over and technical has been committed?
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
No. With Team A up by one and the intentional foul being called. With no time on the clock the free throws aren't shot because the game is over and they don't have an effect on the game. Game over.
That would be the best way to handle it. Simply don't see any time remaining on the clock after the whistle is blown for the intentional foul, then without definite knowledge time would not be put back on.

BTW, I'm only advocating this as a way of avoiding any silly claims by the Team B coach for a T due to the on court celebration. I'm NOT advocating ignoring an unsporting act by any member of Team A, especially comments directed at an official.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Dec 04, 2006 at 12:43pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
End of game Technical Chess Ref Basketball 8 Fri Dec 01, 2006 07:52pm
Technical AFTER the Game MajorCord Basketball 45 Mon Feb 27, 2006 08:22pm
technical foul at end of game mngoose33 Basketball 9 Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:25am
Pre-game technical DTS Basketball 3 Sat Jan 15, 2005 07:55pm
Technical Foul Before Game ScottParks Basketball 2 Tue Jan 16, 2001 10:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1