The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 09:07am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Are you sure about #5. What if A10 is another player other than the one A6 subbed in for.
I'm pretty sure that A10 is not the player who was just subbed out when A6 came in. I'm also pretty sure that 3-4-12 is the only rule that addresses when it is NOT ok for a sub to come back in/out. The question is not asking if it's ok for A10 to enter the game; it's asking if it's ok for A6 to come back out of the game without the clock moving.

If 3-4-12 says that A6 can't come back out, then he can't. If 3-4-12 doesn't say that A6 can't come back out, then he can.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 09:12am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
You better re-read that rule. I am pretty sure it is saying the substituted player can not re-enter the game without the clock having run.

Rule 3-4 Art. 12. A player who has been withdrawn or replaced by a substitute may re-enter the game at the next opportunity to substitute, provided that the game clock has been properly started with his or her replacement in the game.

What about Art. 13, I know the reference is about an injury but it has application here as well.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.

Last edited by SmokeEater; Thu Nov 16, 2006 at 09:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 09:39am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
You better re-read that rule. I am pretty sure it is saying the substituted player can not re-enter the game without the clock having run.

Rule 3-4 Art. 12. A player who has been withdrawn or replaced by a substitute may re-enter the game at the next opportunity to substitute, provided that the game clock has been properly started with his or her replacement in the game.

What about Art. 13, I know the reference is about an injury but it has reference here as well.
My bad Smoke, I didn't read the post to which you were responding. I retract my original response to you.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Nov 16, 2006 at 09:57am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 09:43am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
I know, even still to keep discussion and learning going. It doesn't matter who A6 subbed in for as long as that same player is not subing back in before the clock runs.
I remember this being discussed before either here or in another forum that A6 can be subbed for again during the initial dead ball.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.

Last edited by SmokeEater; Thu Nov 16, 2006 at 09:49am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 09:40am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
You better re-read that rule. I am pretty sure it is saying the substituted player can not re-enter the game without the clock having run.
Right. But the question is asking if A6 can come BACK out of the game. The only rule that addresses coming BACK into or out of the game is the one I referenced.

Now, does that rule prohibit A6 from exiting the game? There's your answer to the question.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 09:51am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Right. But the question is asking if A6 can come BACK out of the game. The only rule that addresses coming BACK into or out of the game is the one I referenced.

Now, does that rule prohibit A6 from exiting the game? There's your answer to the question.


Art. 13. A player who legally enters the game during a dead ball may leave
the game during that same dead-ball period without penalty.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.

Last edited by SmokeEater; Thu Nov 16, 2006 at 09:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 10:34am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Art. 13. A player who legally enters the game during a dead ball may leave
the game during that same dead-ball period without penalty.
Ok, I see your point. My reference wasn't the ONLY rule to discuss coming BACK into or out of the game.

But Art. 13 doesn't apply, because it's not the same dead-ball period. He shot two free throws before being subbed out again.

Last edited by Scrapper1; Thu Nov 16, 2006 at 10:38am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
So you're writing the CABO CIS Men's Exam are you? I have my copy as well. Pick up a rule book instead letting someone else to the work for you.


J
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 11:09am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
I will have to dissagree with you again Scrapper. Hey your living up to your name....LOL

The clock has not started again, therefore still the same dead ball period.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2006, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 50
ans

In the rules you talk of, any one can shoot technicals
In 2, the answer is no but a warning is given
in 3 yes
in 4 no
in 8 no because he entered the court already
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Few Questions CBrison Basketball 3 Sat Mar 18, 2006 11:14pm
Some More Questions. steve33 Basketball 4 Thu Feb 23, 2006 05:54am
questions re: [email protected] Baseball 13 Mon Jun 02, 2003 07:16am
2 Questions Ricejock Basketball 5 Sun Oct 06, 2002 06:05pm
2 Questions brumey1107 Basketball 11 Wed Oct 02, 2002 12:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1