The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
I think the intent of the rule is when team control is established while the player securing that control is airborn. The rule is allowing for that person to make a normal landing with the ball, regardless of if the jump started from FC or BC.

I will grant that the way the rule is written it can be interpreted to ambiguously. To me, 9-9-3 is clear. The team not in control can jump, secure team control and make a normal landing. Until I see a specific interpretation from the FED or a case play it will not be a violation in the games I ref.

That is just the way I see it.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
[QUOTE=Ref in PA]I think the intent of the rule is when team control is established while the player securing that control is airborn. The rule is allowing for that person to make a normal landing with the ball, regardless of if the jump started from FC or BC.

Where was the player last location be the leap FC look at rule R4-4
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref in PA
I think the intent of the rule is when team control is established while the player securing that control is airborn. The rule is allowing for that person to make a normal landing with the ball, regardless of if the jump started from FC or BC.
That's not true. The rule only applies to a defensive player or during a throw-in or a jump ball. There's no other time this applies.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 16, 2006, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
That's not true. The rule only applies to a defensive player or during a throw-in or a jump ball. There's no other time this applies.
We will have agree to disagree. The exception, as I read the rule, if for landing when team control is secured in the air.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Read the rule. "...the team not in control..." The rule says nothing about team control. On a throw-in, the thrower has control of the ball. The statement in the rule book has nothing to do with team or player control at this point. If I'm the thrower, I have control. If you are my opponent, you are a defender. If I release the ball, then my team was the last team in control. My team did NOT have team control.
I think you are examining this way too closely. To me "the team not in control" does mean the team does not have "team control." To phrase it that way eliminates the use of team twice "the team not in team control."

In the fed, there is no team control during a throw-in. If the throw-in is touched, but not controled, the throw-in ends, but there is still no team control - not until it is secured by a player. Hopefully we are in agreement up to this point. Therefore, when A1 jumps, even though his team initiated the play via throw-in, team A still does not have team control. When A1 secures the ball in the air, he is from a team that did not have team control. Therefore he is allowed a normal landing under the exception.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backcourt violation discodaddy61 Basketball 5 Tue Dec 20, 2005 11:28am
Backcourt Violation During Throw-In imagomer Basketball 7 Tue Feb 15, 2005 01:51pm
Backcourt violation or not ? reed2310 Basketball 8 Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:57pm
Backcourt violation?? zac Basketball 9 Thu Jan 02, 2003 10:47pm
Throw in spot on Backcourt violation Art N Basketball 2 Sat Feb 12, 2000 01:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1